help exchange   Host 11479
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Mostly summer.
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 to 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11479
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 8, 2019

***Many thanks for all your lovely messages! Our house is now full for the rest of the year 2019. ***

We are a family of four (mom, 43, translator; dad, 45, theatrical set designer and doing this and that in the field of culture; boy, 14, into robotics, football, hockey, floorball, mobile and PS gaming; girl, 13, into all kinds of animals, especially horses, cooking, reading, music) who live in a big old house that we are slowly renovating. We also have a little dog.

We need extra pairs hands for all sorts of jobs around the house and garden depending on the time of year and whatever projects we have going on: scraping, painting, cleaning, wall-papering, basic carpentry, yardwork, gardening, basic forestry, chopping wood, cutting grass, picking berries, cherries & apples etc etc. There might be some light work with our ten or so chicken as well. In the summer work will usually mostly be outside.

We also have a few beehives, and helpers are welcome to help with their care if they so wish, but that is not required. ;)

Our helpers normally stay for one to three weeks, and unfortunately long-term stays are not possible.

If you are willing to work for a few hours a day and are not afraid of getting a bit dirty in the process, we will gladly offer you

* A bed - our sauna cottage has two rooms, a living room and a kitchen. One double bed in the living room and a bunk bed in the kitchen. Tv, radio, books, coffee maker, kettle, fridge, cooking facilites. Nothing fancy by any means, but comfortable. The only thing the cottage doesn't have is running water, but you will have access to everything in the main house as well, where the shower, toilets etc are. You are also very welcome to spend time with us in the house anytime you want.
There's also space for a camper van or tent in the garden. All linen provided, naturally.

* Meals - you'll be very welcome to eat with the family or cook your own meals, whichever you prefer.

* Some excursions around the area depending on our timetable.

* Two shared toilets, shower and wood-heated sauna.

* Wi-fi.

We are located about 100 km from Helsinki, 40 km from Lahti, in a rural area. The nearest grocery store, pharmacy, and post office about 6 km (Artjärvi), the nearest small town about 17 km (Orimattila). Lovely scenery, good roads for cycling and jogging, a lake nearby, a beach by another lake within driving distance.
We have a big garden and some forest as well for you to relax in and explore.

We will be happy to assist with transport. You'll also be free to borrow one of our bikes, and if you are an experienced driver, you'll have access to a car depending on our timetables.

No special skills are necessary for the tasks, but some carpentry or gardening experience is greatly appreciated.

Children are very welcome.

Please be sure to have an insurance to avoid unwanted surprises.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use