help exchange   Host 11822
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cote d`Armor
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: Up to 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 11822
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 18, 2020

Unfortunately, due to the restrictions in place around Covid 19, we are not able to take HelpXers for the duration of the crisis.

We are Ron and Judi and we have lived in Northern Brittany for over 14 years and shared 13 of these with our alpacas! We have been joined from time to time by fantastic helpers who have helped us make life at La Grand-Mere even more wonderful!

We always have lots of outdoor work, which at the moment is helping us with the clearing of fallen trees, shredding branches, building a lean-to tool shed plus field shelter as well as replacing paddock fencing.
We always have lots of tree work if you have the skills!

Our work can be quite physical so we need strong, energetic, enthusiastic helpers.

The focus of our life here is our animals, a small herd of alpacas, chickens, cats and a large flock of doves! For us, the highlight of each day involves doing our alpaca jobs, ranging from twice daily feeding and clearing poo to trimming toenails, as well as reminding them how good it can be to go walking on the halter occasionally!

We leave helpers to decide how involved they want to be in our daily animal chores...some prefer a lie-in and that's fine with us!

Accommodation is in one of our 2 very comfortable en-suite guest rooms and meals will be provided with us. We have broadband and wi-fi. Whilst we are flexible about working days/half days, we generally prefer to work full days and then have full days off and this seems to suit our helpers too. We will usually work on projects together but not always, so you do need to be comfortable working alone sometimes as well.

Away from work... we are out in the beautiful Brittany countryside with small villages at 3 and 4 km away. Throughout the year we go to the regular lively evening music events which are great fun and usually involve a bit of Breton dancing and in Summer....always food and wine!

We are about half an hour from the pretty North Brittany coast with great walking and 20 minutes from Dinan. Jugon les Lacs, with pretty lakeside walks and village square, is only a 10 minute drive or under 45 minutes on a bike! The nearest train station, Lamballe, allows access further afield. You can get a train to Paris in under 2.5 hours! The very economical "Oui bus" is also accessible from Lamballe.

We have bikes which helpers can borrow. On days off we are often able to drop off for days out or you can join us on trips, visits and coastal walks as we quite like a day off as well now and again!!

We love it when you book in early as it gives us all a chance to get to know each other a little before you arrive! This helps us make your stay even better, as well as giving you a better chance of us having space to take you!
We can sometimes take last minute requests but not always!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use