help exchange   Host 12021
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1+ (see notes)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12021
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 21, 2017

*** I am hoping to meet prospective Helpx helpers ASAP ***


** Footscray **

Demi-pair (child care and home help) position available first thing in the morning and at night with ALL DAY FREE!!!!!!!


We are Natalie (37, Australian), and Amelie (nearly 4) and Oscar (2).

Before contacting us please ensure you have read our profile and are clear about:

** We would really prefer someone for a couple of months or more but please get in touch anyway

** The type of help we need and if this is of interest to you/ you think you'll bje good at it.

** Most meals/food provided are vegan

When you first contact us, can you please briefly mention some of the above which shows that you understand what kind of things we need help with? Thank-you! (sorry this is just because so many people make contact without reading)


Seeking compassionate and pro-active helper from mid-May. This would suit someone for a month or two or someone who can/wants to stay longer and settle in Melbourne for a while.

Main Meals served will be vegan (but I'm happy to provide milk/cheese/eggs for you to make your own breakfast/lunch)

The great things about the role:

- we live 8km and a few train stops from the city (Melbourne) and about 800m from Middle Footscray station or you can borrow my bike (it's a great location),
- the hours we require allow you time to work, study or travel/explore full time elsewhere,
- I'm a great, healthy (still yummy) vegan cook,
- you have your own reasonably sized room, unlimited wifi (within reason) etc
- my kids are awesome!
- I have taught adults and might be useful at helping with English homework, proof-reading, helping you with your CV.....

The not-so-great things:

- it is a split shift starting EARLY when the two year old wakes (hours are 5.30-7.30 a.m. and approx 8.00-9.00pm 6 days per week - evening slot flexible just need to do dishes/clean up at the end of the day and day off is flexible too),
- there is only one bathroom/toilet to share for all of us and it's an old bathroom,
- the house is in good repair but it is old and to many people will not like the condition and aesthetic.

Our family is me (mum, Natalie) and Amelie who is approaching 4 and Oscar has just turned 2.

I am recovering from major surgery and am experiencing great fatigue so I need someone to get up with the children at 5.30am(!), give them milk, breakfast, play, read stories, change Oscar's nappy, dress him and try (if you can) for them not to wake me.

If it is possible in this time slot it would be great to hang out a load of laundry or make the kids' lunch but the priority is playing with the kids.

Just before you finish at 7.30a.m please make me a coffee which helps me to get up!

I will provide food for your breakfast and lunch for you to make yourself. We have an organic fruit/veg box delivered each week. Dinner will be a hot vegan meal which you are welcome to eat with us or later in the evening.

You are free to do as you wish during the day.

It doesn't really matter what time you do the evening shift. It's cleaning up the table, the kitchen floor and the dishes from the dinner. If there is any time left in the hour after this (and a lot of the time there won't be) maybe peeling carrots or making sandwiches for the kids lunch the next day.

Total hours per week: 18
5.30-7.30am 6x per week
(Approx) 8.00-9.00pm 6x per week
One full day off

*****Please note: For one month there may be extra paid hours available on top of the above exchange.

This is a good job for someone with a bit of confidence so that if I am feeling poorly and haven't written a list for that day you'll just have a go and figure it out (& also I won't be upset if you chose the 'wrong' thing, I'd rather you just had a try).

My children are loud and outgoing. They also love stories and quiet imaginative play but they can be boisterous. Also, even when you are not 'working' there will still be kids and toys everywhere. You may need to go in your room and close your door when you need space or there are heaps of bars, cafes, parks and the library within a short walk when you need to get away from us :)

My parenting style some people call 'attachment' or 'natural' parenting. I respect the children as humans and we talk a lot of choices. We don't have many rules in our family only rules about safety. If the children want to do something dangerous we talk together about the risk and whether the child thinks it's worth it. I encourage independence. The children have their own pantry and drawer for plates and bowls etc and can help themselves. Amelie dresses herself and Oscar chooses his own clothes. The children and I sleep in one room. Oscar still breastfeeds (nurses) a couple of times per day. We really value kindness in our family. If something goes not so right we talk about whether it was kind and how the other person felt. We never say 'naughty' or 'good.'

Ideally I think this would suit one person otherwise the house will get cramped. However, I am open to considering a single parent as long as you can manage my children from 5.30a.m. to 7.30a.m. alongside your own parenting.

I **might** consider a couple or two friends (but there is only one room/one bed available) and the second person would need to be available for:
-Preparing meals also for 18 hours

Please contact me ASAP if you have any questions. We also welcome Helpxer to come and visit, see the house and meet us before deciding if they want to stay. Please join us for a cup of tea or a meal.

We look forward to hearing from you. Natalie, Amèlie & Oscar

Because of the babysitting component, we will ask for personal references; thanks for your understanding.

We have been active in Couchsurfing for much longer than we have been involved in Helpx so if you would like to read some of our Couchsurfing references please see my (slightly outdated) profile:


reviews (2)
Helper: Teyen Widdicombe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 4, 2013
Four stars more me, thanks to sleep deprivation owing to my foolish lack of m... view complete review

Helper: Helen Stayte Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 13, 2012
I stayed with Natalie & Alex for 2 weeks and they were fabulous hosts. We wor... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use