help exchange   Host 12164
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Holsworthy
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10.5
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12164
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 2, 2018

We are looking for a helper from NOW, minimum stay 3 weeks. We need to catch up with gardening and other jobs, including getting more organised, fancy helping and becoming part of our Bramble farm family for a while? Read our profile and reviews and send us an email...

We are looking for a reliable enthusiastic helper who would like to experience all aspects of farm life with us, read our profile and particularly our reviews to find out what previous helpers thought....

Possible jobs: gardening, picking vegetables, weeding, planting, digging, spreading manure etc Checking the animals, feeding, mucking out etc, tidying, cleaning, building, concreting etc. There are various new jobs starting soon, depending on weather and time available if anyone can offer any skills just get in touch telling us what you can offer.........there are a variety of jobs for everyone!

We are part way through building a new agricultural building for the livestock. We are running on a temporary water supply, so water use is very limited, until we finish the building and can install the rest of the borehole so we can be as self sufficient as possible. With all this in mind we also have to keep the farm going on a day to day basis. Busy but fun and worth it!

Ideally looking for helpers willing to stay for 3+ weeks as it takes a while to get to grips with things.

We are a smallholding of 10.5 hectares (26acres) in Beautiful West Devon, which we have been building up over the past 13 years, with still a lot to do.The market town of Holsworthy is 3 miles away (the nearest shop, so come prepared) and the North Devon coast is about 20 minutes by car. Roadford lake is 6 miles away which offers varied watersports. There are buses from Holsworthy daily if you wish to travel on your days off.

We regularly attend local livestock and machinery sales and local brewery events (just a mile away with EXCELLENT ale, beer and now lager ;-) and you are welcome to come along with us if they occur during your stay with us. Usually Saturday afternoons ;-) We also have some homebrew for the more adventurous.

At the moment on the farm we have 7 Saddleback Sows, 1 Pietrain boar, 4 store pigs, lots of piglets, 91 breeding ewes, LOTS of lambs, 1 wether, 50 traditional breed chickens/chicks, 4 cats, 1 dogs, 2 horses, 1 peahen, 3 geese etc.

We are easy going and like to enjoy what we do, a sense of humour is essential. We ask that you are easy going and flexible as somedays there may be a lot to do while on others there will be a lot less. Days off are negotiable to fit in with the tasks at hand, but tend to be Wednesdays and Saturdays if there is no other preference. In return you can expect us to be flexible in what you want to do and days off, hopefully in return for your help you will learn, have fun and get fed!

The accommodation will be in a mobile home on your own, we are next door in another caravan, we will make sure you are warm and comfortable. There is running water, hot and cold and electric so its like glamping! However there is no cooking facilities or smoking in the caravan. We have jobs to complete inside and out so we won't let the weather beat us. There is internet access in the caravan. You will join us in the evenings for a cooked meal in our caravan otherwise we will supply food for you to have breakfast (cereals, toast) and dinner (sandwich etc) whenever it suits you to fit in with our working day which is approx 6-8 hours 5 days a week. The other 2 days you can do as you please, be it relaxing in your caravan, going for a walk or catching a bus from Holsworthy to local landmarks, it is up to you.

You will either be working on your own or with Rob (Robert) or Pat (Patricia) during your stay here, it varies depending on the jobs being done. Boots and wet weather gear would be provided for your stay if required but you must request this on application giving your size so we are prepared, but expect to get dirty even on dry days. There are so many other jobs to do that you could choose pretty much any of them to suit you.

The farm is very rural with the nearest small town (shops) 3 miles away so come prepared for that! The day to day running of the farm means that we find it difficult to have set mealtimes so times will vary but usually we ask helpers to start at 10am, lunch is approx 1pm, Evening meal would be approx 8.30pm after all the animals are put to bed ;-) Lots of breaks between! We are meat eaters (eating our own pork, lamb & turkey) but will try our best to accommodate vegetarians.

New languages aren't our strong point but hopefully you can teach us a thing or two.

Please only apply if you have a genuine interest in animals, farming(and hard work) things can also get a little hectic at times so expect a small amount of disorganisation but fun:)

Hopefully you haven't been put off yet, if not, get applying and we will respond as quickly as we can. Make sure you include something in your email about what kind of work that we offer that you would be interested in and enjoy and why!

Thanks

Rob & Pat

reviews (17)
Helper: MaŽva Fischer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 2, 2017
When I went to England, I was stressed because I didn't speak English, I had ... view complete review

Helper: Delphine Clary Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 1, 2017
I have been in Rob and Pat 's place during July 2017, and I don't regret it ... view complete review

Helper: Talia Galloway Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: August 5, 2017
I could wax poetic for paragraphs on these guys, but I'll try my best to keep... view complete review

Helper: Rosa Bumm Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: July 30, 2017
I've worked on Rob and Pats Farm twice (summer 2016; spring 2017) - one of... view complete review

Helper: Marina Saundry Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: July 26, 2016
There is nothing bad I could possibly say about Bramble farm. Rob and Pat are... view complete review

Helper: Kerchuan Soong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 13, 2016
I have just spent an amazing month with Pat and Rob at Bramble Farm, a magica... view complete review

Helper: Chloe Joubert Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 6, 2015
How to explain my experience at Bramble Farm ? Just amazing ! Iím use to tra... view complete review

Helper: Travis Cook Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: July 27, 2015
Bramble Farm was my first Helpx Experience. Its safe to say that if you are l... view complete review

Helper: Paul Loiselle Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 12, 2015
I discovered by chance rob & pat on HelpX announcement . This one got me im... view complete review

Helper: Hayley Wright Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: November 5, 2014
If you are going to make Bramble Farm your first port of call as a Help X des... view complete review

Helper: Antonio Gomez Montero Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: September 22, 2014
I am so grateful to Rob and Pat that I would remember the great experience I ... view complete review

Helper: Sarah Dunn Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 29, 2014
I was planning to stay with Pat and Rob for three weeks, maybe four if I real... view complete review

Helper: Antonio Gomez Montero Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: June 11, 2014
Rob and Pat are exceleent persons.always wored about you feel Good.work with... view complete review

Helper: Anna Huebner Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 10, 2014
Probably the perfect place to be. Rob and Pat are very humorous and kind peop... view complete review

Helper: Angelo Leotta Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: December 30, 2013
Rob and Pat were my first HelpX experience and I am glad they were. Kind, und... view complete review

Helper: Joseph Haley Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: September 13, 2013
I stayed at Rob and Pat's place for a little over a month this summer and I t... view complete review

Helper: David Loesche Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 18, 2012
I enjoyed six weeks of great company, nice work and good food at Rob and Pats... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use