help exchange   Host 12214
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Newcastle
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12214
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 2, 2019

Hi, I'm Andrew, thanks for looking at our profile,

I'm a single dad and we are a family of 3 living in the suburbs of Newcastle about 10 mins from the local beaches. I have 2 kids (9yo & 11yo), enjoy cafes and going to the beach and playing in the pool. (The photos are some of our local beaches). We also like cycling and playing games, chilling out and chatting with friends.

We attend a local church each week and our two kids attend the local school which is just up the road.

I spend lots of my time fixing (renovating) houses and love to have people to work with.

You don’t have to be there for the full time or work every day but in the past helpers have usually worked about 20 hours per week each (could be 3 days full time or a few hours each day), fixing the place up and then spend the other time at your leisure.

It helps if you have been involved in building or renovating (or are keen to learn) but we also are looking for people who get on with (our) kids and are happy to get involved in the regular bits of life.

By the way, if you have a trade background then please and let us know, having carpenters, plumbers electricians stay is such a blessing and we are super keen to make sure its worth your while if you bring specilised skills.

There are always a huge range of jobs to do like:
• Painting
• Installing joinery
• Gardening
• Attaching fixtures and fittings
• Carpentry
• Hanging new doors
• Putting up new plasterboard onto the walls

We live in a renovated 2 bedroom house in the suburb of Waratah. Generally I give up the master bedroom while your here and stay in with the kids (they sleep in the "sky-beds" - see the photo), meaning you get the double bed.

The house is joined (via a common rear deck) to our neighbour, "Tes", who is studying her PHD in psychology.

we have ADSL2 internet which is pretty good and achieves 5-10 Mb/s (good enough for skype calls).

the house has 1 bathroom which is quite large. there is a great rear deck looking over the grassy garden and treehouse (for kids and adults too).

One of the great things is getting to know the kids and teaching and learning from them about how a household runs in Australia. the strange beatles, spiders, snakes, etc that live here (not at our house though ! ).

I love language. (although I'm not that great at any other than English yet), but I'm more than happy the help you our whit your English picking us grammatical error to make your English sound more natural.

Generally we are looking for people who are going to fit in with our family. People who are: Independent, friendly, hardworking, willing to work in the team to get things done and solve problems.

One of the biggest things is people who have some life experience and know how to help out without direct instruction.

What else...

We try to offer the best in accommodation and hospitality so you have your own room (No sleeping in refurbished shipping containers or dank rooms here.

We have built up a helper’s book over time with lots of suggestions of things you can do around Newcastle and we also have a range of brochures. We have some spare clothes if you don’t have painting clothes, but we don’t have all sizes (just a random selection) so best if you have some working clothes).

So if you’d like to be involved in our life and projects, send us a message and we can hopefully get to know each other better in the coming weeks and months.

So come and stay, it’s a great life and a great place to stay

Looking forward to meeting you soon.

Andrew, Annalise and Liam

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use