help exchange   Host 12300
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Margaret River
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.7
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12300
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 5, 2019

~~We currently have availability for one or two helpxers travelling together~~

We have a small 4 acre property (not a farm) between town and the beach, we balance professional jobs with a rural family lifestyle close to the bush and river. We keep a few sheep and have a couple of small dogs too. There are also native animals to see and lots of birdlife around us too. We have built a house and have been planting and landscaping the property. This is a homestay in a family environment, therefore we welcome enquires from NON-SMOKERS ONLY.

We are always busy here and what you will be asked to do will depend on the weather, time of year, and the projects that are currently going on at the time. The work can often be physical and dirty for example, general maintenance, landscaping, planting, garden maintenance, including weeding, digging and watering, mulching, housework and ironing. We don`t ask anything of helpxers that we wouldn't be prepared to do ourselves.

It is essential for your own safety that you understand English and are willing and able to follow instructions and to carry them out to the best of your ability.

In return we will provide a comfortable private room with a double and a single bed, own bathroom, linen, bedding, pillows, towels. Also included is breakfast, lunch and an evening meal 7 days a week, plus wi-fi internet access. We eat a varied mixed, meat based, Western Style Diet. Each helpxer will work 24 hours a week, often 3 x 8 hour or 4 x 6 hour days per week so you will have full free days to explore the local area. We offer stays of at least two weeks at a time, with the possibility of an option to extend. We work hard but are easy going and play fair!

As hosts who may invite you into our home, we request that you provide us a photograph on your profile, any work experience and qualifications you have, the skills you have, hobbies, interests and any references you may also have. Please ensure you read our profile carefully and PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU INCLUDE THE DATES YOU WISH TO STAY WITH US IN YOUR MESSAGE.

We are not in a position to offer you any paid work. SORRY WE CANNOT SIGN OFF ON 2nd YEAR VISAS as our property does not qualify for this.

We are able to collect from the local bus station in Margaret River Town. Our property is 7km from Town by road, or a 5km walk on bush trails. We are about 10km away from the beaches but you will need your own car, van or bicycle to get there as there are no local bus services. There are local tour companies who pick up and drop off at the door for organised winery and brewery tours.

reviews (10)
Helper: Judith elgie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: December 7, 2016
I stayed with Ruth and Walter for 3 weeks and could easily have stayed for mu... view complete review

Helper: Amandine FARGETTE Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 22, 2016
What's an amazing Help X experience with this sweet and dynamic family ! As l... view complete review

Helper: Sergio Agenjo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: December 15, 2015
I stayed at Ruth's and Walter's house for three short weeks during the ones I... view complete review

Helper: Barbara Quéré Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 19, 2013
I stayed two weeks with Ruth and Walter and their children; it was a good tri... view complete review

Helper: Siiri Tolvanen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Finland Date: October 22, 2012
I stayed with Ruth and Walter and their amazing children just over two weeks ... view complete review

Helper: Cleopatra and Roberta Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 23, 2012
We spent just over two weeks with the Young family and would have definitely ... view complete review

Helper: Wat Ying Suet Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: December 17, 2011
I had unforgetable 2 weeks with Ruth, Walter, Caitlan and William. I am so ha... view complete review

Helper: Thomas Jedrzy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 29, 2011
Me and my girlfriend were staying 5 weeks with Ruth and Walter and the two ki... view complete review

Helper: Ghislain HENRY Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France, Metropolitan Date: November 25, 2011
Hello, Some words to say I have spend a really good time in Margaret River... view complete review

Helper: Claire and Jessy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 15, 2011
We spent two weeks with Ruth, Walter and their children, it is a really nice ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use