help exchange   Host 12311
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12311
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 29, 2019

Hi, we live in Wellington in two old, turn of the century, historic cottages (1860`s) that are 200 paces above the street, private, set in the bush amongst the song of tui and kaka. It is an easy 20 minute walk into the central city.

Note: we are not a farm.

We are self-employed, busy and very hands on in all that we do. We are a couple with two adult daughters, one has recently returned home to live with us.
We provide all your food and accommodation, in exchange for about 8 hours help on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and 4 hours on Thursday. This gives you a 3 day weekend to explore and relax. (The hours can vary depending on whether we are in a middle of a job that must get finished - for example - building a roof before it rains). The accommodation is rough at the moment as we are in the middle of renovating these old cottages... if you don`t expect a palace you will be fine.

We need your skills in one of these areas:
1. Building and restoring the three cottages. 2. Making fermented soft-drinks at our brewery. 3. Work in the small vegetable gardens that supply our table (not too much happens in the garden over winter). 4. Setting up a website. 5. Work on a small film about the brewery. 6. Robotics, electronics and making all sorts of wierd and interesting gizmos.

Our house is TV free - we value the opportunity this gives us to share time and ideas with you. We do not allow cellphones at our workplace, kitchen or dinner table. If you find it difficult to switch your smartphone off, or that, Facebook, your tablet or laptop computer has become your new "TV" our place will not work for you, please think about this carefully before writing to us - we are interested in getting to know you and working with you, not your smartphone.

Our meals are predominantly vegetable and salad to give us the energy for our work, but we do eat a small amount of meat and fish about once or twice a week. We expect helpers to take their turn cooking wholesome meals for everyone, doing the dishes on your cooking night, and general housework.If you are a couple or friends, you will be cooking separately. You must be able to whip up a meal for up to 8 people efficiently and quickly, using whole-food ingredients from our pantry and garden. Each meal must include a big salad and on your cooking night you also make the household bread, we will show you how to make bread, it`s very easy. We do not use commercially processed, packaged or tinned foods nor do we drown our meals in salt, sugar, eggs, cheese or garlic (i.e.the additives of a lazy cook!) Everything in moderation. And alcohol is BYO (bring your own)
We are looking to share our house with helpers who are cheerful (very important), energetic, honest, and have inquiring minds...if these traits do not describe you or you are domestically "impoverished" (i.e. still expect your mother, father, boyfriend or girlfriend or someone else to clean your bedroom do your washing and make your meals, bury the food scraps, clean the toilet, help you get up in the morning), this is not the right place for you.
If we think you may be suitable and we have the space, we will invite you here to meet us before saying yes or no to your stay, do not arrive with your luggage assuming the answer will be yes.

We have many helpers applying to stay and we look carefully at every email we receive and value the fact that you have contacted us. It is important that you tell us about yourself, your interests, your skills and experiences in your home country, rather than what you have done or are doing in New Zealand or your travels - the more you communicate to us about what you can bring to our household and our workplace, the better we are able to decide whether our home and work situation would be suitable and agreeable to you. Please Note: We do not respond to bulk or impersonal emails or to people who have not read our profile carefully and responded appropriately!

Much, but not all of our work involves lifting and/or making things.You need to be relatively strong (you don`t have to be superman or superwoman) and manually dexterous. We have found that helpers who are proactive in their attitude to life, who understand the concept of give and take, who realize there is a connection between effort and reward have the most satisfying time here and fit into our household best, however, everyone has different skills and tell us about who you are, and what you can do.
A minimum of 14 days stay is preferred, and our house and property are strictly smoke and drug free.

Sometimes it takes a while for us to get back to you, be patient.

Thanks for looking at our profile, we look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use