help exchange   Host 12406
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: All year
Area (ha): 12-13
Persons: 1-10
Category: Other
Host ID: 12406
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 16, 2020

Due to corona virus borders to Norway are closed (as many other countries).
The only info I have for sure,is that we don't know what the next weeks bring. Once back and running I know we'll need all the help we can get.

STAY WELL - be careful and remember an extra sms and phone call to your loved ones!

Various work for preferably longer stays.

Planning for summer-fall 2020 - get in touch.

The campsite has a beautiful location by the Oslo fjord, approximately 45 minutes drive from Oslo (1 hr+ by bus). The site is owned by the Norwegian YMCA-YWCA.
Its about 13 acres large and has 500 meters shoreline, lots of fruit trees and other vegetation and a soccer field. It was originally a residence for a wealthy businessman from Oslo in 1901 and was founded as a campsite in 1941/42.

The work varies with the seasons and will consist of everything from kitchen work, gardening, painting indoors and outdoors, carpentry, tidying, organising, cleaning, caring for animals with food and water and generally maintenance.

We are always looking for a carpenter that can do the job we don't know how to. There are lots of different buildings that need different care.

The work is partly independent (or with other helpers) off season and you make your own day. We usually make a list of work to be done, and you are sometimes free to pick out your preferences.
In season there's mainly a schedule and routines to follow, though still with plenty of time to explore the nature around or visit Oslo. (visit's to Oslo works best planned, it looks short on the map, but we're kind of on the country side with not so often public transport:-))

There will be cleaning, tidying and gardening during the spring as well as general maintenance and some painting.

You will sleep in a cabin or a caravan. No sharing unless you travel together:-)

You are welcome to use our bicycles, boats, canoe and kayaks to check out our beautiful surroundings. A pair of old cross country skis for the winter experience, always a fun challenge for beginners:-)
You are expected to keep all common areas clean and tidy to make the place look nice for our guests.
We need you to take initiative, be self- propelled, have the basic skills and understanding of practical work, take pride in the work that you do, and of course- friendly:-)

Also we've been part of a program to reduce food waste, we'd like our volunteers to be aware when handling food, cooking etc. Of course there'll be more info when you get here:-)

We are privileged to have many people who'd like to stay with us, long-term is preferred. We've have learned that at least 2 months gives the best experience for all parts.

We're looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,

Marianna and family for Strandheim with
2 dogs, a cat, 2 goats, 2 pigs in the summer, 2 ducks, 1 roosters and 11 hens:-)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use