help exchange   Host 12713
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Balcairn
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12713
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2020

Would you like to spend time in rural North Canterbury? We are only 30 mins drive from Christchurch on a 20 acre farm with a few sheep and young cattle and a large organic vegetable garden which we eat from every day. We’re about 7 minutes drive to the sea, an hour to Hanmer Springs, 20 minutes from the Waipara Valley vineyard area.
We have bicycles you can borrow to explore locally, and if you like hiking up hills there are a few nice tracks in close driving distance. Our outside hot spa is marvelous on cold evenings during winter. Accommodation is in a comfortable sleepout and you would use the bathroom in the house and share meals with us. My husband is a builder so we have tools you can borrow if you need to convert your van for living in before touring NZ.

I would like some help in the garden. I also appreciate help with housework and dishes. If you like to cook I have a beautiful kitchen for it. If you are technically savvy I have some audio cassette tapes that I'd like transferred to digital - a job for a rainy day :). You can also take over my daily task of feeding some hay to the cows.

We would like about 4 hours work per day for food and accomodation... and, in addition, if I cook the dinner I would like help with the dishes in the evening. (We do have a dishwasher, so it's not arduous.) We are happy for you to work flexible hours or work 8 hours one day and have a whole day off for sightseeing, by arrangement. In fact, it suits me quite well.

About us: Our 5 children have grown and flown the nest but occasionally they pop by for visits. We have 3 cats, a piano which is longing to be played again, and a beautiful garden. We like meeting new people and are happy to help you with your English.

As we are 15 km from the nearest bus stop, it's helpful for you if you have a car, but I can pick you up from Rangiora by arrangement.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use