help exchange   Host 12755
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Rochester
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 12755
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 30, 2016


We are in Kent, a short walk from the centre of the picturesque historical town of Rochester with it's Dickensian heritage, Norman Castle and its' own Cathedral. We have good railway access to London and Dover.

Our house is a renovation work-in-progress. We can offer short term accommodation in exchange for internal and external skills. Examples of which are garden taming, tree surgery, using a drill (curtain poles, shelves), small scale plumbing and wiring (only if qualified), plasterboarding, fitting insulation, gloss painting, curtain making, housekeeping or just as an extra set of muscles for moving furniture around.

We are Eco-friendly, Green, Festival folk and welcome your ideas, experience and practical assistance to fulfill some of our plans.
Our home is a pet-friendly, non-smoking and vegetarian household. Smoking is acceptable only in the garden please and you are welcome to cook meat but preferably while we're out, haha.

We have a spacious room for a single helper or for two friends/ a couple to share during your stay. There is broadband available and use of a standard bicycle. We would request 20 hours of help per week in exchange for accommodation and food, including a communal meal each day. The house is quite basic though. My kids' friends used to refer to it as indoor camping... We hope that with your help this will improve!

More details will be added as we go along. In the meantime please do contact us if you would like to know more...

When you email, can you please give an outline of your experience, level of skill (eg amateur/ qualified - all welcome) favourite past projects and personal enthusiasms.

Thankyou

reviews (5)
Helper: Chris Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Poland Date: March 26, 2013
I have spent almost 4 weeks with Tia and it was simply wonderful!:) She is su... view complete review

Helper: Diane Martin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: October 24, 2012
Sorry this review has taken a while...........I stayed with Tia for 1 week, s... view complete review

Helper: Robin Maddrell Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 28, 2012
I've heard it said that a tidy house is a sign of an empty mind. Tia's mind i... view complete review

Helper: Platon Jérôme Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 25, 2011
I spent a lovely week with Tia who is very kind and open-minded. She has cute... view complete review

Helper: Sonia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 19, 2011
Tia is a warm-hearted, open-minded, adventurous, wonderful person, and I feel... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use