help exchange   Host 12768
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 2 +
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 12768
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 9, 2020

This is a beautiful farm in South West Normandy, home to a herd of rare Rocky Mountain horses living a natural life on the land. It is about 1km to the village of Ger, which has shops and bars (one French, one English). Hosts Erica, Sarah and David are developing it as a nature retreat centre, and need help throughout the year with various tasks including horse care, cutting and clearing overgrown fields and woodland, gardening, and building work. We are passionate about the healing power of Nature and feel that this is a very special place. We have successfully hosted many helpxers here, and also in Sarah and Davidís previous place in England (see reviews below) and love sharing our amazing home with all kinds of interesting people from all over the world. We look forward to welcoming you here.

We are currently looking for helpers to assist our lovely builder friend, Dave, with a house extension and some renovations (inside and outside work). You will need at least a basic ability with a hammer, saw, etc, though Dave will show you exactly what needs doing. Some help on the land will also be welcome, and there is the opportunity to work and play with the horses.

In the winter we need people who love horses to help us care for our equine family. They need feeding, mucking out, grooming and exercising. They are very friendly and a delight to be around! We would prefer people to have had some experience with horses, though itís not essential. Our horses are all kept and ridden in as natural a way as possible (barefoot and bitless).

In Spring and summer the horses need less care (though they still like lots of attention!) and the work mostly involves managing the land (clearing brambles, thistles and bracken from the fields), gardening, and building maintenance.

Accommodation may be in the guest farmhouse, Ericaís house or the Studio (a small barn conversion). We find that it works best for us if helpers are mainly self catering (we pay for your food), but we do enjoy sharing some meals, and are very happy if you want to cook something for us! Although we are not vegetarian ourselves, we are happy to accommodate vegans and vegetarians.

We expect you to work 20 - 25 hours per week. In addition to this, we expect you to keep your accommodation clean, and join in with normal household tasks like washing up. There will be plenty of time to relax and enjoy the delights of La Volťe, which include the beautiful valley and woodland, swimming in our natural pool in the summer, the horses, and conversation (or quiet time) around the bonfire, or a cosy woodburning stove on winter evenings. Wifi is available in all the houses. There will be some opportunities for visits to nearby towns, and walking and riding (for experienced riders) in the lovely countryside. (Please note that for various reasons we canít guarantee that it will be possible to ride.) Also, David is a Reiki healer and Craniosacral therapist and will be pleased to give you a treatment if he is here.

We are all native English speakers, and are happy to help you with your English if required. You will need to speak and understand at least a good basic level of English, though Erica speaks French.

We can collect helpers from Flers station, half an hour away, which is on the line from Paris. It may sometimes be possible to arrange lifts from Dinard or Rennes airports or Caen/Ouistreham ferry port.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use