help exchange   Host 13140
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Taylor
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 35
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13140
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 15, 2019

Please contact us for information about specific ongoing projects.

General Info About Broken Magnolia

We raise gourmet garlic, vegetables, herbs, meat goats, and chickens. We need help with our goats, dogs, chickens, large gardens, harvesting and preserving veggies, help with ongoing projects, building maintenance and construction, wood cutting, and household work.

We are working towards living on the land in a sustainable way. We do not use chemical fertilizers. As much as possible, we have no till gardens. In MS, this is tough but we are making progress.

We are juggling a lot of balls, getting/keeping the farm in order, goats, chickens, planting, harvesting, putting up veggies, homeschooling grandchildren, large guardian dogs who want to go AWOL…… It is endless. Fun but endless. Things are not neat and, to be honest, they are often barely organized. If you can handle impromptu living, we are the place for you!

Music and Art: Everyone on Broken Magnolia loves music and everyone except myself plays. We live in the MS Hill Country and the spring, summer and early fall are the time for Hill Country Blues festivals. If you have your own transportation, these festivals and the MS Delta and the many Delta blues festivals are an easy drive away. Our son, who lives on the farm, is a professional artist/musician and is interested in having volunteers who would like to work on framing etc.

General Work Requirements: In return for room and board, we expect an average of 25-30 hours of work a week with one day completely off. We do require that you work at specific times. In the summer, for example, we work early, take off in the middle of the day, then do evening chores. We don't always work with you. You need to be able to take direction and finish tasks on your own.

Length of stay: We prefer folks who want to stay for two weeks or more. If a volunteer has previous farm/work experience that we need at a particular time, we can arrange one week stays.

Transportation: Getting here: If you do not have your own transportation, Greyhound has a stop in Grenada, MS and we can arrange to pick you up there. Please contact us before you make a reservation.

Once you are here: While we are only 10 miles from Oxford, there is NO public transportation between our farm and Oxford. We can, however, arrange to take folks into town when we go.

Food preferences: We are omnivores. That said, we have had many vegetarians staying with us and it worked well.

Living Conditions: Our volunteers stay in a separate air conditioned/heated sleeping/eating space with a 1/2 bath and shower. There is a sink, microwave, and fridge for food prep. We supply cutlery, plates, bowls, cups, glasses, towels, sheets, dishes, paper goods, cleaning supplies etc.

Food: We provide food, coffee, tea, fruit, milk, juice etc. You fix your own breakfast and either your own lunch or your own dinner. I prepare one full meal a day and bake most of our bread.

Internet Access: If you have a computer, tablet, smart phone etc. limited wireless internet access is available for e-mail and social networking.

Laundry: Free Washers/Dryers and laundry soap are available in both houses.

Smoking: You can smoke outside. We do not allow smoking inside our houses, the volunteer space, the barns, or in the gardens.

Drugs: You may not use illegal drugs on our property.

Languages: We are native English speakers with limited Italian, French, Spanish, and German. We love to have volunteers who speak another language so that we can learn from them while they practice their English.

Pets: Because of the guardian dogs, we cannot accommodate pets.

RVs: If you have a small to medium size RV we can arrange to park it and run an electric cord and water hose to it but we don’t have permanent hookups for electricity, water or sewage.


reviews (2)
Helper: Carmen Crane Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 9, 2016
Where do I start? Me and my daughter spent 2 weeks with the Daigles and had a... view complete review

Helper: Rosie Frey Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 29, 2013
Sweet, sweet people. We stayed here for three weeks of the kidding season, le... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use