help exchange   Host 13342
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Rose Prairie
All Year: May till Nov
Area (ha): 474acres/192hectares
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13342
Region: BC, Northern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 16, 2019



*****Looking for Helper (FEMALES ONLY)
Hi there,
We are looking for people who want to do 2-3 weeks, maybe longer stays, live on the land and would enjoy the cultural experience of living and working with us and share the sweat, treasures, pain of joys of such life.

We are a small down to earth Canadian-European Family (in our late 40s) there is two older children (adults) and a five year old girl. Our farm is located about 40 - 45min form Fort St. John BC (we can pick helpers up from the Airport or Bus ). We grow as much food as we can. We have chickens for eggs and meat, two retired horses, several rabbits and a large garden for vegetables.

There is abundance of wildlife in are area, you might see: moose, deer, bears, and lots of migratory birds that come by in the spring and fall.You may also have the chance to see the Northern Lights. We have a beautiful landscape here in the Peace Country, with our rivers and streams and our picnic spot on the river, sunsets and sun rises.

The type of work depends on the season, but includes things like seeding, weeding, harvesting, canning, freezing vegetable and baking bread just to name a few.
We can run long but rewarding days. Mother nature does not run on a 9 to 5 schedule. We expect 25 hours work per week in return of simple but nutritious meals and a private room with semi private bathroom (or a RV, IN SUMMER ONLY).

When you are with us, we respect you and treat you as part of our family. We expect to be respected in return.

We take most Sundays off and often take breaks when the weather does not allow us work outside. It`s not just all work, there is a lot of time for yourself too.

Things to do: biking, going for walks, being outside, boating, or have a wiener roast at the River . There are also local events which happen in the area thru out the summer.

If you want to get off the beaten path, come and join our small family for a while! We love hosting people form different countries and cultures. We would love to have you at our home, so we can show you all these wonderful things hear. Please feel free to contact us and ask more questions if you like to know more.

Hope that sparked your interest a bit and hope to hear form you soon.

reviews (7)
Helper: Liana Bangerter Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: August 23, 2017
I stayed at the Vansickle's for 4 weeks. I learn lots of new things. I work i... view complete review

Helper: Ruth Maton Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 22, 2016
Ursula and I had been in email communication before I arrived and because her... view complete review

Helper: Mami Nakamura Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: July 6, 2015
I really appreciate them to add me as a family and treating me so great. I ju... view complete review

Helper: Caroline Ferrenbach Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 16, 2015
I spent two weeks with Ursula, Jamie and Jim and it was a wonderful time. I f... view complete review

Helper: Angela Bollhalder Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: September 29, 2014
This is a great place to stay as an HelpXer! Now, it's my second time I stay ... view complete review

Helper: Eveline Germann Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: June 22, 2014
Don't hesistate to go to the northern part of BC. It's as picturesque as the ... view complete review

Helper: Liana Bangerter Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: October 10, 2013
Ursula, Jim and Jamie are a very warm and hospitable Family. I felt immediate... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use