help exchange   Host 13373
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Sant'Agata Feltria (RN)
All Year: not always, please ask
Area (ha): 9
Persons: 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 13373
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 28, 2020

Sorry, I am not hosting volunteers at the moment, due to Covid emergency.
(ONLY families, couples or women, NO single men).

If you want to learn basics of saffron growing, I can tell you all I know in exchange for some help picking flowers early in the morning, cleaning and drying them, and maybe sowing other plants (4 hours per day)...

We are a peculiar family: me, my daughter, her father, grandparents, italian and foreign neighbours, friends... sometimes spread around, sometimes all together!

I started my countryside adventure on summer 2011, when I bought a piece of forest land on central Italy hills: a lot of trees, path walks and old stones.
I fell in love with Valmarecchia valley the first day I saw it, and I thought the land name was a kind of sign: in the local dialect, Boratoja means "with a good will"... in other words "for the ones who wants to trek" as the hill is quite steep!
The land was abandoned since 50 years, so it was a kind of jungle with the ruins of an old stone farmhouse.

I am running a small agricultural activity since 2015, growing biological aromatic herbs (till now mainly saffron, later on I would like to grow other culinary/medicinal plants too).

In the future I would love to have more rooms for hosting travellers, re-animate the small village where I am living (just 5 houses + 2 empty), and hopefully transform the solo job into a group activity.

Some interests of mine: yoga and bioenergetic therapy, medicinale wild herbs, auto-production, training dogs, backpacker travelling (before having two dogs and a baby!), hispanic languages and cultures...

Seasonal tasks (1 or 2 weeks, 4 hours a day / 6 days a week):
WINTER (jan/feb/mar) storage ordering, machinery/materials reparing, house manteinance (interiors).
SPRING (apr/may/jun) collecting aromatic herbs (wild or cultivated), field and garden general manteinance (weeding, pruning, etc), house manteinance (exteriors).
SUMMER (jul/ago/sep) Saffron sowing (every two years), collecting aromatic herbs and wild fruits, field and garden general manteinance (weeding, watering, etc), preparing marmelades or juices from wild fruits and flowers.
AUTUMN (oct/nov/dic) Saffron harvesting, drying, packaging, garden general manteinance (fallen liefs, composting, ect), ordering cutted wood.

All the year tasks:
-dog and cats necessities (food, water, walking)
-cooking for everybody, cleaning dishes
-cleaning common spaces (kitchen, bathroom, stairs...)
-sometimes baby caring (play, play, play...)

I live 3km away from any food shop, so if you are not working with me I will ask you a contribution for food costs.

You can reach me by train to Cesena + bus (direction Bagno di Romagna, bus stop Montepetra) or train to Rimini + bus (direction Novafeltria, last bus stop), then we will pick you up.

Nearby you can have wonderful TREKKINGS on the hills/mountains (400/1.400mt) or HORSE ridings, you can visit medieval little towns (Sant'Agata Feltria, San Leo... all reachable by local transports) or NATURAL PARKS...
if you are obsessed from CLIMBING, you will love the rocks around Perticara (3.5 km far)!

PS: I have one dog, Mina (as the old one, Billo, recently died) and one cat, Pirata: they are funny, cuddly and adventurous.... while the forest around is inhabited by deers, boars, badgers, hares, porcupines... and snakes! (so bring closed shoes, please)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use