help exchange   Host 14022
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 500
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14022
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 19, 2013

This is a working organic farm producing Chianina cattle, honey, olive oil and white truffles. We also have three restored farmhouses nestled into the woods throughout the 500 hectare property that we rent to tourists from all over the world. Three families live on the farm, all of which have small children. You will interact most with Kyre (originally from California) and Ivano (Sardinia by way of Milano) and our two children Leroy and Antioca, however there are two other families that live down near Reception as well. Paolo (Sardinia) and Jessica (New Zealand) with five year old Maya are the property's caretakers; the farm's owners, Guido, Tina and baby Teresa, come down from Florence once a week as well. We are looking for someone to come assist during tourist season and in exchange will offer housing and food. The duties range from assisting with bookings to assuring that houses are ready (we have a separate cleaning staff) to maintaining gardens to interacting with guests at various functions. The work requires a good deal of self-motivation; the idea is not to guide you through each day but to give you general tasks. We therefore are looking for someone who is competent, proactive and responsible. It will be necessary to work on Saturdays, Sundays and Mondays with some other hours throughout the week as well. The absolute maximum workweek in high season will be 30 hours.
When you are not working you are free to spend your time as you please. The estate has many forests and pastures, walking and hiking trails, a small lake and various animals & wildlife. The farm is close to many Tuscan cities, such as Florence, Siena, Lucca, & Pisa and has two international airports within an hour's drive.
It is essential that you speak and write very good English; speaking Italian, French and/or German are pluses. This is a large estate so a driver's license is also needed. We will provide a furnished one bedroom apartment with kitchen and private bathroom, walking distance to Reception. We are also happy to provide food from our gardens and shop as well as a small stipend. We are looking for someone (1 person or a couple) to come from March-October. As it is a specialized position, we are only interested in hearing from people who can stay for that entire duration.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use