help exchange   Host 14116
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Angra do Heroismo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2, more in summer
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14116
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 18, 2017

I'm Paulo, 41 years old and originally from the Azores islands. I've created the re.function project, an eco-sustainable lifestyle, which prides for reusing materials, transforming it into art, tools or any gadget we might built. It is also about nature's cycle, growing and farming a variety of species.

The space is about 7000 sq meters, a part of it are fruit trees (papaya, physallis, lemon, orange, tangerine, chestnut, coffee, banana, vineyards among others), there are vegetable gardens, also a green house, the chicken yard (free range), the bees' yard and the rest is forest - granting a versatile tour around.

I'm always interested in developing new technics on achieving sustainability and my goal is to promote an ecological and sustainable lifestyle.

At the moment, we are developing the structure of re.function, renovating the residence, initiating artistic projects, building a silk printing studio and accomplishing our daily tasks in the area around the house at the same time.

The main house is from the XVIII century and, besides being my place, it also works as an artists' residence. It is still on its first steps but already running, it is meant for all sorts of artists. Mostly, I've been hosting plastic artists.
I myself like to be creative in different ways and enjoy being surrounded by creative people.

Help is needed:
Accommodating somebody who has several manual skills would be a most welcome support in renovating the house. The following knowledge is helpful: Handling wood (e.g. to carpenter doors), cementing outdoor areas, repairing small electric machines etc.

Nevertheless, also unskilled helpers will find a good way to fulfill themselves:
- To build bungalows and shelters throughout the forest.
- Daily care on the vegetable garden (planting, weeding and clearing).
- Harvesting mostly fruits.
- Feeding the Chicken and collecting eggs.
- Watering the greenhouse.
- Creating a watering system to all different yards.

5 daily work hours, 5 days a week. The job is flexible, so anyone would adapt easily.

I can host two to four volunteers at the same time. The rooms vary according to the number of artists in residence. Access to the kitchen, wi-fi and cable TV.

I welcome nature lovers, energy believers, artists, musicians and all self disciplined people who want to share experiences, have fun and love to work for a better world.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use