help exchange   Host 14172
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Mid-North Devon
All Year: April-October
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: 1 (female preferred)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14172
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 13, 2019

Come and help us for a week (8 nights) this Summer.

We can host someone from June 20-27 or July 20 (2019) onwards to September. Non-smokers only.

We are looking for friendly, easy-going solo helpers, normally for a stay of 7 days/8 nights. We would like you to help for 4-5 hours per day (20-25 hours per week) with 2 days free per week - gardening, cutting grass, clearing branches, spring-cleaning. In return, you will have:

- Small bedroom (4.5m2),or another larger single room - when available;
- All meals (veggie or meat-eaters);
- Internet access from our laptop for EMAIL only (due to limited download contract))
- Books, CDs and DVDs

Phone signal is variable, depending on your provider. You can use your own data to download, if you have a smart-phone, but we have restricted internet usage on our home contract.

We live in an old cottage surrounded by pasture and wooded valleys, in a very pretty peaceful area of South West England. Our garden is run for the benefit of wildlife, and consists of a grass meadow, orchard, vegetable garden and flower gardens.

We are in a very rural location, with no near neighbours or towns. Bear in mind that you could find this boring! You must be able to entertain yourself (reading, music, DVDs, walking) when we are busy. Our nearest city is Exeter (40km). We live within reach of North or South Devon coasts, Exmoor or Dartmoor Parks by bus or train, or car. We may be able to lend a bicycle, but it is very hilly here!

Our nearest city is Exeter (40km), reached by Megabus, National Express bus, or train from London or Bristol.

My husband and I are a quiet, mature couple, looking for flexible and enthusiastic helper who values the natural environment, and is happy to help us with any tasks in the garden or around the house. We can practise English conversation with you. We have no pets, we do not smoke or permit smoking in the house and we only use natural household products.

We would like you to prepare your own breakfast, drinks, and rarely lunch - food will be available. It would also be nice if you shared in cooking evening meals.

We do not have television but lots of books and DVDs. We are 50 minutes walk from a bus-stop; 5km from a village. We can usually give you a lift by car to/from station or bus-stop. If you have a car, you would be more independent, but public transport links are available.

We have hosted people from all over the world through various hospitality organisations for many years. We enjoy learning about other cultures and countries, and hope that you will be keen to learn about ours.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use