help exchange   Host 14242
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 2-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 14242
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 14, 2019

We are a family of 3, Michael, Heather and 15 year old Eloise. Heather goes to work Monday - Friday and Eloise is at School whilst Michael manages the property and works part time.

We really enjoy hosting travellers from around the world and appreciate the help we get in managing our property whilst learning about diverse lives and culture.

Our property is located one hour from Melbourne and sits atop a pristine Mountain 10 minutes from Healesville. The world class Healesville sanctuary and the many Yarra Valley renowned wineries are a short drive away. Healesville is abuzz with tourists and town folk who enjoy the coffee, markets and art space that is central to who we are.

Our property is surrounded by cool climate Mountain Ash forest. There is plentiful wildlife, including, lyrebirds, wombats, wallabies, kangaroos and numerous native birds. Our farm has cows, sheep, and free range chickens as livestock. And of course a crazy border collie!
We have a large vegetable garden and a developing orchard.

Our guests reside in an open plan flat with bathroom and 2 queen size beds. Guests can relax at the end of the day with a game of pool, table tennis, music, TV, DVD in private accommodation. wi-fi is available.

All guests food is provided. You can eat breakfast at your leisure in the accommodation and share lunch and dinner with our family. This however is flexible depending on guests preference. Accommodation is located 80 meters from the main house so guests have there own space and privacy.


Currently we are renovating a building in the Yarra valley that will be turned into a wellbeing centre. We are currently painting the place we are looking for help with this project. Our last helper worked three longer days on this project and had 4 days off a week. If this type of arrangement appeals also let us know.

The well-being centre project is occuring at the same time as all usual jobs that can include helping in the garden, on the farm, domestic chores, maintenance depending on your skills and interests. We try and mix jobs up that suits someone’s skills and interest.

Often we will both be at work so capacity to be able to work alone would be highly advantageous. Working times can be individualy negotiated, around a 5 hour working day with two days off a week.

Our property would best suit a couple or two friends who are happy to share a double room. Having your own transport or being able to drive would be ideal, however, not a necessity. People who live on the mountain drive into Healesville daily and so transport into town, then onto trains and buses to the city can be easily arranged. We also have some bicycles that many helpers have used to ride down the mountain for the day and then be picked up in Healesville by car.

Our preference is to host for 1 or 2 weeks minimum, this way you will have time to experience Australian rural life and explore the renowned Yarra Valley and provide us with some consistence of help on our property.

We all look forward to meeting you if the above suits what you are looking for.




Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use