help exchange   Host 14249
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Not in January/February
Area (ha): 4 hectares
Persons: 1 or 2, in one bed.
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14249
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 11, 2020

We are american, from San Francisco and New Orleans, living in France for over 15 years. We have an old farm property in the Loire Valley, 10 minutes from Chinon, with a main house and two renovated barns. The larger barn is a vacation rental, and the smaller barn is mixed use, rental or friends, helprs, etc. We need help with some small projects, with landscaping, and in the vegetable garden. We have a large veggie garden, many fruit and nut trees as well.


Before the season starts there is much work to be done cleaning up, pruning, and planting the vegetable garden. In mid-summer, there`s weeding and landscaping to keep up with, when the smaller barn is not otherwise occupied. We also do catering events and can use help with these.

During the winter we can use help in marketing our vacation rental, since the sites we have used for years have switched their format to compete with AirBnb. Anyone who knows WORDPRESS software is a plus. We need help with marketing on social media, our own website, etc.

In fall we need help cleaning up the garden and getting ready for the winter months.

We can help with your english language skills if you are looking to improve, and we speak French.

We enjoy good meals together, good conversation, good films and cooking. We owned and operated restaurants in San Francisco for 16 years prior to coming to France. Currently working part time for an American company that manufactures foods that are only organically grown and vegetarian.

Our website:

reviews (8)
Helper: Miles Henderson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 5, 2017
Steve and Tim are wonderful people. I came here expecting the standard helpx ... view complete review

Helper: Gemma Mughini Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: July 13, 2017
My experience with Steve and Tim has been amazing and I was really sad when I... view complete review

Helper: Paulo Filipe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Portugal Date: April 19, 2017
Steve and Tim are generous hosts, easygoing, always with Interesting conversa... view complete review

Helper: Remy Couture Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: November 8, 2016
I spent 10 days with Steve and Tim and wow! The food was amazing, very much i... view complete review

Helper: John Franck Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 20, 2016
Steve and Tim were wonderful to stay with. The work each day was very reasona... view complete review

Helper: Clarke and Frances Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: July 6, 2015
Steve and Tim................where do we start.....well........3 bottles of w... view complete review

Helper: Ana Vivar Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: June 8, 2014
I spent ten days in Le Clos de Bachet. I helped mostly in the garden pruning ... view complete review

Helper: Peggy and James Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 23, 2013
We had a most wonderful experience with Steve & Tim. They are very generous,e... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use