help exchange   Host 14392
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Not July or August
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14392
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 21, 2020

Sadly, like everyone else in the UK, we are in lockdown due to Coronavirus. Under current restrictions, non-essential travel is banned and all households are banned by law from receiving visitors. The lockdown is in place until at least mid-May, and probably a lot longer. Consequently, we canít consider any helpx applications for the foreseeable future. Thanks for your interest; stay safe and well.

Our 17th century farmhouse is home to Piers, Sue, three young people aged 19-23 (two are away at university), two house cats and a small, very friendly dog. Our stay length is two, occasionally three, weeks.

We offer helpxers comfortable accommodation in a prime tourist area, excellent food and a genuine welcome, in return for a fair level of physical work. It's a great opportunity for people who are keen to stay in a family environment and learn stuff about country living. We usually take helpxers one at a time; sometimes we have two people here.

Our home is within sight of the sea in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. There are shingle beaches to walk to and steep-sided sandy coves easily reachable by bike (although the roads are hilly!). South Devon is an enormously popular tourist destination from Easter to October, when it earns its reputation as the sunniest part of England.

We moved here nine years ago and have established a multi-award-winning business running stylish, comfortable self-catering holiday cottages. We live on site in the main farmhouse, where we accommodate helpxers in cosy, clean guest rooms. There is unrestricted internet access, and you can have your own TV if you like to watch.

We don't use helpxers for the routine cleaning and maintenance of the holiday cottages - we have permanent local staff for that. Instead, you help with jobs around the farmstead, mainly gardening and painting. We keep chickens and ducks, a few pigs and a small flock of sheep, three horses and a (retired) pony, which means you should also be willing to assist with cleaning out the animal housing if required. We are happy to let you help with feeding and handling animals if you want to learn, but please don't picture yourself working with animals all day.

We expect about 25 hours of work in return for a week of bed and full board. Most people have preferred to work mornings Monday to Saturday, leaving them with the afternoons to hang out and do their own thing, go exploring, or whatever. (The review from Jule says that she and her sister opted to help in the afternoons as well - we feel it's important to emphasise that they did this because they were really enjoying what they were doing. We absolutely don't expect anyone to work all the time!) You must be ready to work on your own some of the time; we don't ask you to do anything we aren't willing to do ourselves.

Digging, weeding and mucking-out is hard work, so we need people who are reasonably fit and strong. You should bring your own outdoor clothes, some of which need to be warm (even in summer). We have a selection of rubber boots, but you need your own stout shoes and almost certainly a waterproof! We sometimes have to work outside when it is raining and you must not mind getting dirty.

We like having visitors, and invite them to eat all meals with us in the comfortable farmhouse kitchen. We enjoy a diverse range of ingredients, including our own lamb, pork and bacon. Meals are important social occasions, so being an adaptable and enthusiastic eater is essential for a stay here! Foreign language speakers are very welcome, and we can help with improving your English - French, Italian and German are all spoken fluently here. (We voted to remain in the European Union.) Sue is a painter, while Piers and the children are musicians. We have a decent piano and a selection of other instruments.

In your free time, you may like to explore the surrounding country, which is well worth the effort. There are beautiful coastal walks and we have good maps to lend you. There is also a bicycle you could borrow.

The wider area of South Devon has many sights and attractions. The sailing port of Dartmouth is about 15km and the market town of Kingsbridge is about 8km. If we are going anywhere interesting by car, we can usually give you a lift. In addition, local public transport provides better opportunities for independent travel than in many rural areas (and we will take you to the bus stop). A regular bus service from Chillington (1.5km) runs to Kingsbridge and all the villages in between. From Kingsbridge, the same bus goes directly through to Plymouth, which is our nearest city. Totnes, the administrative centre of this part of Devon, is about 25 km and can also be reached by bus via Kingsbridge. Totnes is an interesting and slightly alternative place that has a direct rail link to Cornwall, or London and beyond.

In summary, we like our helpxers to have a good time and try our best to make this a high value experience for both parties. We offer just a few spaces each year but, if you are hard-working, adaptable and practical, we would love to host you.

We like the first contact to be written - i.e e-mail, not phone call or text. And please make it a personal e-mail that shows you have read and thought about our profile!

We have a positive and welcoming attitude towards young people and we appreciate that everyone starts with little experience. However, we expect your application to provide evidence that you are able to make a useful work contribution in return for our hospitality. You need to tell us about things you have done that show you are hard-working and quick to learn at practical jobs like painting, gardening, building or farming. Please support your application with at least one reference (recommendation) from someone you have worked for - possibly a previous work exchange host, perhaps a current or past employer, or even a teacher from school or university.

One final point: we quite often receive applications from families. We love children, but this opportunity is not suitable for them.

reviews (12)
Helper: Eva-lena Bauer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 29, 2018
I stayed for two weeks here and had a wonderful time. I quickly felt like a f... view complete review

Helper: Juliane Egger Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 8, 2017
My stay here has been one of my best life-experiences so far. When you arriv... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Theresa Stessl Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: September 26, 2016
Thank you to Sue and Piers and to the rest of their family for 3 almost perfe... view complete review

Helper: Marina Saundry Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: June 3, 2016
Piers and Sue are excellent host and their family is wonderful company! I spe... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Margot Margot Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 2, 2016
Hi everybody! I would like to say that this is the place to be. I did a... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Clement GUENARD Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 19, 2015
I stayed 2 weeks and a half here and it was my first Helpx Experience ! I was... view complete review

Helper: Konrad Lech Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Poland Date: January 19, 2015
My two and a half week stay at this farm was my first experience with HelpX. ... view complete review

Helper: BOEUF MC Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 19, 2014
I stayed two weeks in the cotmore farm and it was a very pleasant stay. They ... view complete review

Helper: Christiane Haeffner Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: June 8, 2014
My time here with Sue, Piers, the children and the animals was absolutely gor... view complete review

Helper: David Loesche Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: February 21, 2013
I had the pleasure to work at this farm with a friend of mine and we had a go... view complete review

Helper: Frank Lonitz Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 16, 2012
I helped for three weeks at the farm near Kingsbridge. Piers, Sue and the ki... view complete review

Helper: Franziska Glen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: March 31, 2012
I spent a fantastic two weeks here with Sue and Piers. The weather was fantas... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use