help exchange   Host 14587
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


whiteparish, salisbury
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 14587
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 24, 2019

Welcome to Brickworth Farmhouse :-)

We are seeking help to run our wonderful 325 year old farmhouse, which is in a beautiful rural setting in the countryside of Southern England.

The house has a walled garden, an orchard, a paddock and poly tunnel and is situated in the heart of the Wiltshire countryside, nestled between the historic city of Salisbury and the New Forest, one of England's most treasured forests and heaths, abundant with life & wild ponies.

We are also close to Stonehenge and the spiritual town of Glastonbury and the South Coast Cities of Portsmouth, Southampton and Bournemouth. The area is steeped in history, attracts many visitors with all kinds of interests and offers many opportunities for outdoor activities.
We are well connected with transport services and London and the Roman City of Bath are just over an hour away by Train.

The hosts Mike & Sharon and their son Marcus are seasoned travellers and have experienced the good & not so good, so hope to make your stay a great & memorable one. Please read our reviews below.

Our ideal Helpex Guests are self motivated, enthusiastic helpers. We have a variety of projects and work tasks so please lets us know what you like doing or want to do.

Typical tasks are looking after the small holding, walled garden and the vegetable & herb gardens ( gardening / weeding / pruning }. Maintenance jobs around the place like painting and decorating, carpentry, mowing & tractor driving. If needed we like help cleaning and laundry.

In return for 5 hours work a day, you will be staying in a self contained annex with cooking facilities, shower, bath and toilet. Free wifi and tv are available. There is also a bus stop nearby which can take you to the nearest towns or use our bike to visit the best pub in England :-)
We can be flexible about extra hours and free days.

If you are not eating with us we will provide plenty of whatever kind of food you like (within reason!) for you to cook for yourselves. Mike & Sharon studied Macrobiotic cooking at the Kushi institute in New York so appreciate good diet.

We welcome you to come, stay and play! Get in touch and lets chat.

We have some building work at the moment so are very keen to meet anyone with carpentry or general bulding skills.
In any case enjoy life and have fun.... :-)

Happy Adventuring,
Sharon, Mike & Marcus & the animals

reviews (11)
Helper: Ping-Yi Lee Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: October 28, 2019
Mike and Sharon are awesome host! I felt like home in Brickworth Farmhouse! L... view complete review

Helper: Arnaud Laroquette Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 26, 2019
Mike and Sharon have a lovely and thoughful family. Their son Marcus is very ... view complete review

Helper: Nolwenn and Benot Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 19, 2018
We spent a month at their home. It's a truly exceptional family. We stayed in... view complete review

Helper: Maxence and Emeline Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 30, 2017
Charlotte and Paul gave us a huge hospitality! They have a big heart and they... view complete review

Helper: Nicola and Paul Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 21, 2017
Charlotte and Paul are like a breath of fresh air on the helpxing circuit. W... view complete review

Helper: Joey and Anna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 1, 2013
We stayed here for only ten days during a cycling tour but we wish we had sch... view complete review

Helper: Pierrick and Anne-sarah Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 23, 2013
We stayed for a short time in the family, because we had other obligations. ... view complete review

Helper: Liviu Simionescu Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Romania Date: August 7, 2012
I warmly recommend Mike's and Sharon's farm as an amazing place where you can... view complete review

Helper: Quentin and Marion Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 27, 2012
We recommend this farm because its an amazing place with lovely people. They... view complete review

Helper: Helen Southall Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: July 23, 2012
This place has a really beautiful garden and it was a pleasure to spend time ... view complete review

Helper: Nitya jacques Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: May 18, 2012
I greatly recommend this farm, i had a lot of fun even if i was working hard!... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use