help exchange   Host 14631
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Saint Donat
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 4
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 14631
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 29, 2020

*** We are currently looking for help for the following periods: ***

- From the end of April until the beginning of June 2020
- July and August 2020

We prefer to host couples or two female helpers

We, Eric and Caroline are a Dutch couple (42 and 47) that moved to France in 2010 to start a small hotel-restaurant-bar in a beautiful mountainous/volcanic area in the middle of France.

This is outdoor-country with lots of walking and cycling trails, fishing, parapenting, etc. etc. In the winter there is a large ski area at 15 minutes drive (Superbesse).

Our hotel has a homely atmosphere with 4 rooms and we have a restaurant with local specialties, bar, garden and terrace. We do most of the work ourselves. Caroline is the main cook and laundry lady and Eric does most of the maintenance, admin, marketing, construction work, waitering, bar tendering, shopping. Cleaning is our joined task.

July/August are the busiest periods in which we can just manage the day-to-day tasks by ourselves.

At the same time there is a lot of other work to be done as well, such as maintenance work, garden and vegetable garden and building our apartment on the attic. We also have two lovely dogs that get a bit neglected in the high season...

Off season we spend our time on small maintenance and larger renovation projects, such as painting, making our apartment on the attic, preparing the garden etc.


In the low season we are looking for people with `handyman skills` such as painting, gardening etc. Nothing too complicated though.
In the high season (July/August) the focus would be more on helping out with keeping our private life in order, such as cleaning, laundry, ironing, helping hand in the kitchen and walking the dogs.
Specialist skills such as plastering, welding and plumbing are very welcome but not essential!


We have two a rooms with shared bathroom on the attic, so we can take in up to 4 people. In principal you will be responsible for your own cooking, but sometimes it`s easier and more fun if one of us cooks for all of us and we can enjoy a meal and a movie or a game of darts or poker together. This differs from day to day depending the customers in our restaurant.

Cooking can be done in a kitchen in your accommodation. we provide the ingredients obviously...

There is internet connectivity and satellite TV , Wii and games.

Occasionally you might have to share the bathroom with our friends and family or other volunteers that come over and occupy the 2nd room on the attic .

What else ...

Ideally, we would look for a couple of which one person can help out with cleaning, cooking etc. and the other can help Eric with improvements, general maintenance and other work.
But we`ll consider other offers as well.
We are located in a small village in a beautiful area. Having your own wheels is not essential, but would obviously improve your options what to do in your spare time.
Depending on the `click` between us, we are looking for a short (minimum 2 weeks) or long term involvement. As we are already living with guests in our `house` for most of the year, we do value our privacy when we have no guests.

Around Saint Donat there are many beautiful walks to do in your spare time. When we have time we will take you on trips around the country side or to villages in the area for sight seeing, hiking etc.

In summer you can relax and have a swim at a waterfall nearby. In winter we can take you skiing.

You can mingle with our local French, English and Dutch friends.

Depending on the tasks at hand and your own interests you`ll learn about gardening, how to cook local Auvergnate dishes, handyman skills etc.

You can practice your English and French with us, our friends and the people in the village.

Also we are fans of board and card games and movies so you can join us for a movie or game night when possible.

Eric plays guitar and although he hasn`t had much time for it lately, there are always one or two lying around for somebody to give it a go.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use