help exchange   Host 15058
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Fresne la mere
All Year: June
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 15058
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 24, 2019

We are a family of four running a chambre d'hotes in Normandy. The children are 18 and 15 years old and we live in the middle of a lovely French hamlet. The area is magnificent and we are constantly still surprised by how much Normandy has to offer. You will stay in our spare room. It is very small so we could take a couple as there is a double bed in the room, but it only has a double bed a desk and shelving in the room.
We ask for 25 hours of work a week in exchange for your food and accommodation. We also ask that you help generally with the preparing and clearing up at mealtimes, as you would in a family as well as keeping your room clean and tidy.

You have wifi in the accommodation but you need to bring your own device. We do not provide the use of a computer.
You can borrow our bikes and if you want to explore further afield we can get you to the bus stop in Falaise. The area is famous for the D-day sites and cider and cheese. You also have the medieval history in Bayeux, Falaise and Caen. Some helpers choose to hire a car for a weekend to explore which you can do from Caen or from Falaise if you are over 25.
We would prefer a non-smoker or an extremely considerate outdoor smoker and we have some animals here such as a cat 2 goats and 6 chickens.
We are more than happy to accept vegetarians, but we are not, so you may need to cook some of your own meals. We can't always accommodate dietary dislikes or vegans in our family meals so if you have a specific regime you will also need to be happy to cook dinners for yourself.
We are looking for people that are self-motivated and hard-working and who are considerate and generally helpful around the house when living with others.
We have some ongoing projects as well as the day to day running and maintenance of the House and Gardens.The projects tend to be concentrated on much more in the off-season months
We need to look after a small market garden
During the summer we are usually very busy from April-September with the Bed and Breakfast. We are looking for people who are happy to clean the rooms and bathrooms, muck out the animals and look after the garden. There may be some project work as well.
It is important that you are able to be friendly, chatty and professional with our guests.
We speak French and our children are fluent in French but as a family, we usually converse in French in the mornings and English for the rest of the day. Our guests are a mixture of French and English speaking.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use