help exchange   Host 15373
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Co. Clare
All Year: May to September
Area (ha): 9
Persons: 1 to 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15373
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2019

9 acre farm with an organic garden.

Help needed from mid May onwards. Help needed to mind the place and feed calves for the last week in May.


Looking for a quiet place to let nature connect with you, good food, a bed in the dwelling house or cabin and helping out for a few hours. I can share my experience in gardening and much more.

The farm is a small holding, with cattle and a vegetable garden. The work around both is soil management, feed the soil to produce grass and vegetables. making compost is a big part of it. Converting cow manure from the winter to compost. That would be turning the manure and mixing it so it breaks down to become compost that smells like chocolate cake. I am learning more on mob grazing where the cattle get fresh every day and tramping grass back into the ground to nourish the soil.


Projects and tasks vary through out the, year. Garden works- sowing, planting weeding harvesting and preserving the produce, helping in the kitchen, stacking wood, general maintenance on the farm, land drainage and landscaping.


I am mainly vegetarian if you eat meat it is Ok too. I enjoy cooking and eating good wholesome seasonal food, I have kefir/kombucha plants to take care. I am a non smoker/drinker I don't do drugs.

My home is near Sixmilebridge southwest Ireland coord(52.74,-8.77) 12 miles from Shannon airport 13 from Limerick city and 15 from Ennis.

I work off farm in Shannon on shift rotation 6 day of 8 hour each day then off for 3 days. We can work together on my days off when I am about otherwise I will give guidance and you will have your days off too. We can be flexible. This place may not suit you if you want to learn English.

I am a 3rd year Alexander technique student in the Alexander Technique college in Moycullen Co. Galway completing my final year. I also practice Buddhism meditation. Sunyata meditation centre is close by and on Wednesday evening there is a meditation practice, open too the public, as well as various retreats on weekends.

I enjoy being with nature, 5 rhythms dance, singing, festivals, yoga, chi-gong, meditation and agriculture/vintage shows,hiking, and running. I am a member of Irish seed savers based in Scariff Co.Clare. There are a few bicycles here if you like one and discover the area.

Accommodation is either in the dwelling house or cabin. So if you are interested in nature and a quiet place, few hours to help out, this exchange may suit you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use