help exchange   Host 15422
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: February - November
Area (ha): 0.62
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15422
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 24, 2019

The garden is situated in the picturesque village of Gissing on the Norfolk and Suffolk border approximately 20 miles south of the city of Norwich and 5 miles north of the market town of Diss. There are good rail and bus links to Norwich and London. Gabriel’s Garden is a small (approximately 2/3 acre) but quite literally ‘growing’ business, we specialize in growing a wide variety of flowers and foliage's renowned for their seasonality, fragrance and simple beauty to use in our onsite floristry studio.

We are looking for helpers to stay and help with a variety of jobs from February to November to help keep the garden growing: weeding and ground work, sowing, planting and at certain times harvesting. As a guide we aim for 5 hours work per day, 5 days a week. The aim and ethos of the business is to be as sustainable as possible, we don’t use chemical sprays as we want to encourage a natural biodiversity within the garden, which means the majority of the work is done by hand.
The work in the garden can be physically demanding and requires people who enjoy the outdoors, are happy to work and live independently and have a good understanding and ability to speak English. It is very rewarding work, particularly if you are interested in horticulture as the garden in flower is a little pocket of paradise!
For accommodation, we have a separate wooden cabin in the garden of our house. It comfortably sleeps 2, has a wood burning stove for heating and internet access. Shower room and toilet facilities are in the main house very close by. Delicious home cooked meals are provided during the week, all of which can be eaten around the family kitchen table. We welcome couples, individuals and pairs of workers and are looking for helpers who are teenager and dog friendly!
We are looking for helpers who are happy to work and live independently and due to our busy work and family lives we prefer to keep weekends as a private family time so we ask that helpers respect this and aim to make plans for themselves, enjoy the peace and quiet and/or use this time to either relax in the cabin or plan and make excursions to places in the wider area.

We are booked for the summer until late September, please get in touch if you are planning on travelling to the uk in late September October 2019 or from March 2020.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Many thanks,

Some transport links:,

Google maps also has a 'directions' function which can be used to find transport here.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use