help exchange   Host 15768
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 15768
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 20, 2019

We are Elin (47) and Marcus (44), living with our kids Peder (5) and Anders (14) on a farm in the little village of Landåsbygda.

The family is completed by four horses, two dogs, two cats, eight sheep, three goats and a bunch of chicken.

We do small scale organic farming and produce most of our food ourselfs. The farm is located on the top of a hill, surrounded by deep forests and bogs. We have no direct neighbours and a nice view on the Landåsvatn-lake and the mountains all around.

We do grow a big vegetable garden and also catch some fish in the lake. We try to live as selfsufficient as possible.

Beside do we both have regular jobs, Elin works for the municipality and Marcus is a forestworker.

Elin speaks Norwegian and English, Marcus speaks German, English and Norwegian.

We need help mostly during spring and summer, round about from the end of May until beginning of September.

The usually arrangement we have with our helpers is 5 to 6 hours of work on five days a week. The helpers are free to decide when they want to work and for us it is more important how much work is getting done then how much hours they actually are working, so we usually play that by ear.

We are trying to offer a variety of jobbs, so everybody can pick what he likes to do and things don't get boring.

We provide food and accommodation in exchange for your help. You can stay in our cabin, its a little house with kitchen and bathroom inside. In the times we dont have helpers do we rent it out to tourists - and of course are you welcome to use our farm as your vacction-place in your time off.

Feel free to use our rowboat or our canoe down on the lake and of course the fishing gear. There is a lot of hiking-opportunities in the forests around as well, with a variety of places to spot moose, deer or birds. You can also join us on horseback-trips - or learn to ride (on one of the pictures below you can see two of our helpers from 2017 sitting horseback the first time).

We also use to take our helpers with us when we go for hikes in the mountains or visit arrangements like fairs or events, mostly connected with old norwegian farmwork and crafts.

What we usually ask our helpers to do varies with the seasons.
In spring do we allways have some fencing to be done and the season in the vegetable garden starts with tilling and sowing. Buildings might need some fixing and painting after the winter. We cut timber for construction and firewood in our forest and need help with that. During summer will we need help mostly in the garden with weeding and watering. We usually have one week vacation during summer and are especially interested in helpers that can keep all animals and plants alive during the time of our absence ;)
In the end of summer we use to pick a lot of berries in the forest and help with that is very welcome. We harvest vegetables and need help with preserving food for the winter. And then there allways is some carpentry to be done, things need to be repaired and then there is this thousend little things one never finds the time to fix...

The best way to get here is by bus or train. We can pick you up at the bus-station in Dokka or the trainstation in Gjøvik.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use