help exchange   Host 16019
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes, and now
Area (ha): 1 ha
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16019
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2019

We are a family of 2 adults (Simon and Hanne), 2 children and 1 grandfather living in a rural area in the beautiful south-eastern part of Denmark. ..
We have a lovely homestead of 2 acres where we use principles from permaculture, forestgardening, biodynamics and organic gardening to become more and more selfsufficient all the time. We also have small animals (hense, ducks, cats, rabbits, guinneapig, turtle, dog).

We live mainly from homemade things, e.g. we only buy a few highly processed foods. Hanne is vegan, the kids don’t eat dairy, Simon and grandpa eats everything. We love to cook, and the food here is mostly organic, varied and excellent.

For us the social part of having wwoofers is as important as the work part. The work can be hard sometimes. So can the humor. We don’t sell any of the things we produce.
We have built the house ourselves (since 2004) and we love to live here.
At the moment we are finishing the construction of the last two rooms of the house. Simon takes care of that.
We are looking for ONE dedicated person to support us in daily tasks for at least 2 weeks, preferably longer:
-> feeding animals (it takes about half an hour per day),
-> help in the house (cleaning, doing dishes, baking bread),
-> help cooking in the evening most days. If you are vegetarian or vegan, we will do the meat part.
-> pre-planting in the big glasshouse (85 m2)
-> planting in the garden, and forest garden.
-> construction work if you have such skills

In exchange for all this we will let you be an appreciated and closely integrated member of our family, and we will share our life and knowledge with you. Simon knows a lot about soil, plants and permaculture – and he loves to share. We love to also hear about your ideas and knowledge and learn new tecniques, and we love to discuss ideas of how to deal with climate-changes, world economy, welfare models, ethics…..
Hanne likes to meditate, and you are welcome to join.

We all make a plan every morning at 9.00 that tells everyone what to do for the day, but its up to you when you want to do it, and when you want to have a break. – as long as the tasks are done.

Working will be Monday to Friday. You can either work alone or together with one of us – depending of what you prefer and the tasks to be done. In the weekends there is no work, but if you are at home during the weekend, we will all help each other to make things work out. You can also go and see the beautiful country. Here is a bike you can use, and you can often get a lift to the train-station (and back). At the end of this text you will find links to beautiful places nearby.
Distance to forest: 3 km, to nearest little town 5 km, to the sea 5-20 km – depending on which way you go. In the weekends we often take trips in the nature with the kids, you are welcome to join us.
If you stay with us for a longer period you can take some days off to go on a longer trip. We will be happy to share our knowledge about Denmark.

We have 2 lovely fostergirls 10 and 11 years old. They need a lot of attention and contact from us. Working with them is our fulltime job – so we will basically be at home all the time. Our focus will be on adults (including you) and work from 8-14 and mostly on kids from 14-20.
The smaller girl has infantile autism. She benefits from having to get to know other people – you could say to get out of her comfort-zone every now and then.
We are NOT looking for a babysitter – the work with the children is ours, so babysitter skills are not necessary – but you should like to be around children – they can be quite noisy (the surroundings though are quiet, hehe).
Because of our work with the children, we don't have a very outgoing social life, so for us the social part of the wwoof-exchange is very important.

The accommodation: You will have a room on your own on top of grandfathers house, everything needed will be there.

We want to validate the chemistry between us before, so we want to skype/messenger with you before making an appointment.
Thank you for taking time to read all this. We are looking forward to get the chance to give you a wonderful experience.

Nice places to see nearby:
Møns klint:
Nakskov, Albuen:
Maribo domkirke:
Local brewery:
Marielyst strand:
Knuthenborg Safaripark (free entrance):
and many more…

reviews (3)
Helper: Coline Roullet-Marchand Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 19, 2018
I loved staying with Hanne and Simon, They are awesome loving people with a b... view complete review

Helper: Yu hsuan Lin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: July 22, 2013
brilliant place!sorry for giving the late review! I stayed in Simon & Hanne'... view complete review

Helper: Rafael Gutiérrez Sánchez Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: December 20, 2012
I stayed with Simon and Hanne from November the 19th to December the 16th. ... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use