help exchange   Host 16057
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oxnard
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16057
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 25, 2017

Hello Everyone,

We are a family of 4 in our early forties: Angela and Matt with two children, Paris (18),and Teddy (16). We have four small dogs,three cats and birds. We are an energetic, fun, and busy family looking for a single person or couple who like being part of a family.

Our home is a historic 1920 Tudor style that we are trying to restore. We are looking for people interested in housekeeping, painting, wood work, cooking, gardening, and property maintenance. We would love some help with the yard, household chores and organizing closets and such.
Our transportation center is only a few blocks away and I would be happy to pick you up from there. You can fly in to LAX or Bob Hope Airport and get the train or bus into Oxnard.
You will be staying in our home so we would like for you to be part of our family. We are a very social family and will introduce you to our friends and family if you would like. If you are ok with sharing a room, no more than two people reside in one room at a time. We do our best to accommodate your request as we do not want you to be uncomfortable during your stay with us. We have family that also does Help X and may be able to coordinate if you are with friends.

We live in the Henry T. Oxnard Historic District approx. 3 miles from white sandy beaches. 1/2 mile from our quaint (up and coming) downtown - offering restaurants, coffee shops, ice cream, movie theatre and a local playhouse.

Also, our home is one block from a bus stop and 1 mile from the Oxnard Transportation Center - Bus/train. We are 60 miles north of Los Angeles, 25 miles from Malibu and 35 miles south of Santa Barbara.

Your Accommodations:
*Own room inside house (twin) 2 shared bathrooms
*Access to laundry facility
*Bike(s) available
*Work for 4-6 hours per day 5-6 days a week in exchange for three meals (access to food) and wireless internet

What we want:
*Cultural enrichment
*Someone with an eye for detail, that enjoys working on an old house.
*We only speak English, but are open to learning new languages
*NO Smoking or Drugs
*Being respectable to each other
*We mostly want a cultural exchange. It is important to us that you enjoy your time here and we often have many things going on that you may join us in. Most of the work is self guided and at your own pace, we just ask that you contribute your share and clean up after your-self.

If you enjoy sight seeing you can bike to the beach or the local museums. We have an art museum downtown and in Ventura the next town over, you will find museums, a mission, and the National Parks museum and boats that will take you to the Channel Islands. Santa Barbara is a short train ride away.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use