help exchange   Host 16164
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Mostly
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 16164
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 10, 2016

We are Craig and krista who have been living here completely off grid for over 3 years now. We live on an old Almond farm in a remote valley in Aragon, Spain. Near to the Catalonian border. We are surrounded by by pine forests and large hills. Nature is all around us! Its an awesome place for walking and hiking.
We live in a renovated old stone farm building which is completely off grid, we have our own water/power/internet and sewage solutions. However they are limited in usage as they are not on demand commodities...

Please read our profile fully

The place is very remote and isolated so this is for the adventurers out there, who want to enjoy nature as nature intended. We don't mind if you enjoy naturism, we do, but not when we are working! its a natural thing to enjoy. We are smoking friendly to, but please be careful with the cigarette ends. There is also a lake nearby which we regular visit, it's a beautiful secluded area and great for a skinny dip.

We would like to eventually create a small community of like-minded people who want to live away from the stress of modern society and get back in touch with nature.
We are looking for people to join us on a permanent basis to help us create a small community to be as self-sufficient as possible. Anyone who wishes to join us in this way should be able to support themselves or contribute towards food whilst we get the community resources together and become more developed and are able to share our produce with each other. In exchange we will provide you with an area of land where you will be able to make your own small eco-friendly and discrete living space. Preferably a yurt.

As for day to day living, we generally work in the mornings, giving you free time to enjoy in the later part of the day. There aren't many rules here, just the basic ones, like keeping the place tidy and clean. we believe that people should have this freedom, all we ask for is 4 hours a day, 6 days a week depending on, on-going projects and time of the year. Although we can be flexible with this.

3 Basic meals are provided each day as part of the volunteer agreement, any extra's, you will need to buy yourself. i.e : Alcohol, snacks etc..

We can provide a tent/caravan (tent in the summer). Camp beneath the stars with no light pollution, plenty of time for relaxing and exploring the countryside and mountains, national parks are not far away and make great hiking breaks.

We ask for 4 hours a day, 6 days a week
We are looking for people With initiative to help with:
Finishing off an earthbag house project
General maintenance
Various gardening and landscaping projects
Creativity and new ideas are always welcomed, come down and add your own touch.
Cooking and cleaning are shared tasks we all do and do not count toward your volunteer hours. We each take turns to cook evening meals.

We can provide a tent or use of Caravan (most times). Otherwise please bring what you think you will need. Also make sure you have medical cover.
The nights are dark so bring a torch!
We also don't allow the use of normal washing products as we re-use the grey water. So please bring eco-friendly soap/shampoo as we do not supply these items. This is very important and not bringing Eco friendly washing products

Thanks for looking and hope to hear from you.
Craig & Krista

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use