help exchange   Host 16168
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Summerland
All Year: no
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16168
Region: BC, South Central

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 29, 2019

We are a family home in the Prairie Valley area of Summerland, a rural setting of fruit orchards and vineyards, population 11,000. We live three km from the centre of town. Okanagan Lake, with many great beaches, is about 8km from home. We are a family of two, including an older gentle border-collie, Allie. Our two children, in their 20s, live nearby.
We are seeking a female or a couple home stay, especially in late March to April and September/October. Age is not important. We have hosted over 65 home stays in the last 26 years, international students and helpx folks.
Please refer to references from our helpx guests.
We have all the conveniences of a modern spacious house. There is also a hot tub and a heated in ground swimming pool.
There are raised vegetable beds (about 250 square meters) and a variety of fruit trees. We do not use herbicides or pesticides. Drinking water is from an artesian well, as well as the city water supply.
You will have your own sunny room with windows on the east and south sides. You will have your own modern bathroom. There is a 21 speed mountain bike (like new) just for your use locally and to explore the many riding trails, including the Trans Canada Trail close by.
We prepare healthy meals and like to sit down together for supper regularly, and especially like to Barbecue during the summer! You will prepare your own breakfast and lunch from a variety of healthy choices provided.
In exchange for your room and board, we ask for five hours of light to moderate work, five days a week. We are flexible when the work can be done, as long as the 25 hours/week are completed. The work consists of mowing the lawn, planting and/or weeding the vegetable and flower gardens, window washing, painting fences, and general house cleaning.
There are all the conveniences in our town: many banks, pharmacies, supermarkets, restaurants/pubs, exercise gym and indoor pool, badminton and tennis courts and many beaches and parks.


reviews (9)
Helper: Karen la storia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 11, 2019
I was on my way to Vancouver, visiting Kelowna when I decided to stay and dis... view complete review

Helper: Gerrit and Lisa-Marie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: July 10, 2018

We stayed with Bernie and Val in Summerland in early April for 3 weeks. W... view complete review

Helper: Josephine Koenig Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 7, 2017
I stayed about a week at Bernies and Valeries place and I had a great time! ... view complete review

Helper: Tereza and Jakub Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: June 17, 2017
It was our best HeplX ever! We really enjoyed our stay with Val and Bernie, i... view complete review

Helper: Julia Franke Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 25, 2017
My friend Jascha and I stayed one and a half month with Bernie and Valerie. T... view complete review

Helper: Sandra and Joel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: May 18, 2015
A big thank for everything! We stayed here in June 14 and September and Oc... view complete review

Helper: Caroline Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 3, 2014
I spent nearly two months at Val and Bernie's place (including half of christ... view complete review

Helper: Alisa Friederich Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: September 24, 2013
I wanted to write this in a long time to show you how much I appreciate my st... view complete review

Helper: Anais Forster Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 1, 2012
I highly recommend you to stay with this family! I spent 6 weeks with them... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use