help exchange   Host 16316
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Leitrim
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: From 1 to 10
Category: Other
Host ID: 16316
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 25, 2019

Thank you for taking some time to read our profile!

Since 2012, hundreds of wonderful people from all over the world have volunteered with us. We are very grateful for all they do. Some come for two weeks; most come for two or three months and some stay for a year! Others come back for a second, third or even fourth visit. It`s best if people come for at least 2 months. This gives time to settle in and experience a lot more.

We live in a small, traditional west of Ireland village which has a theatre, sculpture centre, nice pubs and lots of sports clubs. There are lots of hill walks and outdoor activities nearby and we are a 30 minute drive from the Atlantic Ocean. Nearby are three larger towns with public transport (train or bus) to Dublin, Belfast, Londonderry and Galway. The closest airport is 1 hour away, with flights from Britain and Europe.

I enjoy nature, people, animals, theatre, music, arts, community interests, as well as history, politics, peace studies and faith. We attend a small local church but we`re not "religious freaks" and you are welcome to come along if you want!

We are very grateful for all our volunteers` help and friendship. Many have become our very good friends and if you read the reviews you will see that the vast majority have had a very good time here.

The volunteers make this team the great success that it is. The most important thing is your attitude to yourself and then your attitude to the other people who live and work here. Those two things will make the biggest difference and will determine how much you enjoy and benefit from your time here. The people who have the best time here are positive, friendly, open, gentle, committed to working together and helping each other; and know to make the effort enjoy themselves. They are curious; they ask questions. They are willing to learn. They get out and make it happen! If this is you, I look forward to hearing from you!

The Daily Routine

We normally work 5 days a week and can some times include weekends - but if it does, you take time off. The daily hours can vary and if you work more hours one day, you can take time off another day. The present team starts at 9.30 till dinner in the evening. This schedule may have changed by the time you arrive.

You can help in one of the following areas as your main area of help BUT it might be necessary to move you to another area OR for some days you might have to help some of the other people. Be flexible. Bear in mind that some of the work you would like to do may not be the priority by the time you actually get here. Enjoy working with others. Communicate and work hard!

1. Promoting Local Tourism with Social Media and Websites

2. Research and writing for our Community Tourism Magazine.

We really need the help of a good graphic designer for the next few months to help with the magazine - someone experienced with In-design software.

3. Peace Studies: An understanding of peace studies and the challenges facing peace-building, with reasonable English and good IT skills.

5. Site Maintenance: all sorts of outdoor work; carpentry, gardening, painting, even unblocking drains - and not afraid of hard work and mud! Again, everybody ca be asked to help with this

You will need to bring your own laptop or a tablet. It is best if you buy a SIM card in the local shop. It`s only €20 a month and gives you unlimited data.

We are also looking for people to help lead these teams. If you are interested, please let me know! Team leaders come for at least 3 months.

CLOTHING etc
Ireland is a beautiful green country, but can be wet [at times] - wait a minute, it`s dry ... nope, it`s raining! Because you will do some outdoor work, please be sure to bring
1. your own pair of work boots
2. a warm waterproof jacket
3. work gloves, if you wear work gloves when helping outside.
4. your own lap top computer, especially if you plan to help with office work.Thanks,

ACCOMMODATION

You will ether stay in a caravan on site or in a neighbour's house, whom you help 2 days a week.

We have meals together and, if you are asked to cook for everyone, we welcome you to try a recipe from your country. We ask that you help with washing up and keeping the place clean and tidy.

At our home you will have a good experience of Irish culture, history and contemporary issues. In my business, I organise educational tours and enjoy exploring history, culture, politics and current affairs. We will love to hear your thoughts and opinions and to learn more about your home, family, culture and life.

Contact me today and let me know if you would like to come and volunteer with us! Send me your email address so i can send you our application form.

Thank you!
Keith and family


reviews (13)
Helper: Antoine de Castilla Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 3, 2018
I spent 1 month with keith and his family and really enjoyed it. Keith like t... view complete review

Helper: Fabio and Ismael Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: March 31, 2015
Our first Helpx experience and it couldn't went better! We expent there 2 ... view complete review

Helper: April Mulvey Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: January 10, 2015
I stayed 1.5 months with Keith and his family and it was a very pleasurable e... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Gabriel Supino Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 12, 2014
Staying in Glencar with Keith was extremely relaxing and pleasurable. While i... view complete review

Helper: Anja and Julia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: August 24, 2014
Hello ! We are Julia and Anja and we are from Austria. To you need two pe... view complete review

Helper: Sennen perez Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: August 12, 2014
I lived 4 months With Keith and his family... I donư have words. This is my f... view complete review

Helper: Timothy and Rachel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: September 15, 2013
Keith is a great guy. We stayed in Glencar for 1 month and had a good time. G... view complete review

Helper: Colleen Corcoran Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: March 16, 2013
Let's put it this way... I came intending to stay for three weeks in December... view complete review

Helper: Enrique Antonio Chico Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: March 9, 2013
I have been in this house for a few months and was a very good experience. Th... view complete review

Helper: Florian and Barbara Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 23, 2012
We really enjoyed this month spent with Keith and his family! It helped us l... view complete review

Helper: Fabian and Franziska Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 19, 2012
Hi, we spent 3 lovely weeks with Keith and his wonderful kids and enjoyed i... view complete review

Helper: Brian Scott Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 27, 2012
I stayed with Keith and his family for two weeks in early August. It was won... view complete review

Helper: Emilie and Justin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 21, 2012
We spent a wonderful stay with keith and his family.They are very friendly a... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use