help exchange   Host 16351
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Makawao
All Year: 1 month minimum
Area (ha): 2.10 acres
Persons: 2
Category: Hospitality
Host ID: 16351
Region: Hawaii

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 9, 2020

We are a Hawaiian family living in beautiful upcountry Maui Looking for support starting March 16th. We have 4 children. Kala 14 years old, La’au 11 years old, Lei 9 years old and Kahele 4 years old. We are passionate about perpetuating Hawaiian arts and culture in our family and in our community. Hawaiians have always welcomed visitors with Aloha and this is something that we want to instill in our children as well as an appreciation for global diversity learning from people of other cultures. We are looking for enthusiastic, positive, patient, caring, self directed individuals looking to expand their understanding of Hawaiian culture. We are getting ready to welcome guests from all over the world for our April Lomi Lomi retreat coming to learn Hawaiian Healing. We will have opportunities for Worktraders to join sacred sites, and perhaps even be a demo body for the Hawaiian massage techniques.

Type of help:
We are looking for a two visitors to share in the responsibilities of -
Gardening
Babysitting / child care
General Property Maintenance
Help in the house

We are a surfing Hawaiian family. Our children dance hula, play ukulele, my husband and I both practice traditional Hawaiian Healing. We are Maui adventurers and are happy to show you all of our favorite waterfalls, sacred pools, magical hiking trails, and surf breaks.

We are offering lodging and meals in exchange for household support. We have 4 incredible children who love to play, surf, sing, create art, and who love music.

We live on a beautiful 2 acre property in upcountry Maui with lush native gardens. There is an abundance we receive from the land that you can enjoy including, bananas, guavas, passionfruit, avocados, and many other fruits.

Household support will include cleaning, laundry, gardening, general maintenance eg. Painting, pressure washing. The weekly schedule requires 4 hours per day 5 days a week. Hours will be either in the morning or in the afternoon leaving plenty of beach time.

The accommodations are in a large studio. The room is spacious, with plenty of windows, large outdoor deck, indoor and outdoor shower, bamboo flooring and open floor plan perfect for doing yoga, movement, meditation.

Meal preparation will be in a kitchenette on the outdoor deck of the studio. This is equipped with refrigerator, toaster oven, injection range, microwave. We like to eat healthy, with as many organic choices as possible.

We are located 3 miles from the historic Makawao Township where there is dining, art galleries, shopping, and nightlife. Most workers do just fine hitchhiking around our beautiful north shore beaches that include Ho’okipa (world class surfing beach), Paia Bay and Baldwin beaches. We are located 1.5 miles from the Makawao Forrest reserve with 10 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as Waihou springs where you can explore lava tubes. If you wish to explore Maui on a grander scale, we recommend renting a car to explore during the weekends including our Haleakala mountain, the road to Hana and so much more. We head to the beach 3-5 days a week to catch some surf and sea so if you want to learn our surfing tradition, we have lots of extra boards to learn on.

Please contact us immediately if you are interested in joining our ‘Ohana (island community)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use