help exchange   Host 16498
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bellingham
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 16498
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 7, 2016

My home is in a town neighborhood. It is less than 2 miles from downtown Bellingham, WA and 1 mile from a shopping mall, 3 blocks from Cornwall Park and 1 block from a grocery store.

I am looking for helpers who can work independently in my home and yard. I offer stays of 1 day-3 weeks, longer if the arrangement is working well.

I have 2 elderly dogs who live in the home. You must be a pet lover because they are a central part of my home and my life. Helpers must be willing to be around my dogs and help in their care, especially walking the dogs, filling their water bowls, etc.

Daily help with the dishes and sweeping the floors is expected.
Other work may include help with yard care: weeding, trimming bushes, lawn mowing, edging. House care: window washing, basement cleaning, re-organizing, cooking, light household cleaning.

I can accommodate up to 2 people at a time (partners or friends).

Non-smokers only. No alcohol in my home or on my property.

I have 1 room available with shared baths.

This beautiful yet modest 107 year old home needs a bit more support than I can handle on my own.
I am busy with work and social/recreational activities and am looking for people who can fulfill their work hours without me being there to supervise them and who can sight-see and learn about this beautiful part of the world on their own. I'd be happy to help with ideas about the area, having lived here a long time. And when my schedule permits I do enjoy showing helpers around the area.

I cook and eat well, all vegan (no animal products) and would appreciate your help in exchange for good food and a comfy bed.



I ask for 24 hours of help for each seven day period you are with me:
--six days of 4-hour help and one day completely off
or
--fewer days of longer hours of help and several whole days off

I'm flexible about all of that and want to accommodate your needs and preferences also.


My home is 1-3 blocks away from the bus line and walking distance (2 blocks-2 miles) to shops, the waterfront and the main downtown area.

Please note that I will ask for several things in advance of your staying here: your emergency contact information, information about your travel/health insurance, and some sort of photo ID. I want to be able to host you knowing that I would be able to offer help, and contact someone on your behalf, in the case of a health emergency.



Bellingham is 1.5 hour drive to Mt. Baker Ski area (averaging the most annual snowfall in North America), 1 hour drive to North Cascades Highway with amazing wilderness, 1 hour drive to Anacortes (connecting with ferries for the San Juan Islands), 1.5 hour drive to Vancouver, BC (depending on border crossing, and remember to bring your passport if you're planning to go there), and 1.5 hour drive to Seattle. Basically, we're in between two great cities and in the middle of fantastic wilderness and recreation opportunities! As Wikipedia says: "Bellingham is acclaimed for its small-city flavor, easy access to outdoor opportunities in the San Juan Islands and North Cascades Mountains as well as proximity to the cosmopolitan cities of Vancouver and Seattle."

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use