help exchange   Host 16574
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cabranes, Asturias
All Year: August 2015
Area (ha): 13
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16574
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 22, 2015

Since Miriam is pregnant, we could definitely use some extra hands in August to cut wood, build a new woodshed, and do other 'preparing' things before the birth of our baby in October. We prefer to have a couple or 2 or people traveling together.

Our finca is a beautiful, very green and wild piece of land for the most basic of experiences. We have been living here, in Asturias, the north of Spain, since the summer of 2011. Since then we've built up our natural house/yurt, created organic vegetable gardens, and made the most basic of facilities like a compost-toilet and an open-air bathtub. For helpers we have a comfortable camper van with stove and enough possibility for camping in summer.

Its a big land and there is a lot of hard work, so a stay here is not fit for people who are looking for relaxing holidays. Our projects sustain in cutting wood, bio-construction, cleaning fields, clear paths, clean streams, organic gardening (with an openness towards permacultural, bio-dynamical or other techniques), etc. We also have three horses, a donkey, two goats, two dogs and a cat.

We are looking for active and motivated people who like to take initiative and who don't mind a very basic and outdoor lifestyle. The land offers lots of possibilities and we are open for good ideas. Its the perfect place to experiment and to learn to make something out of the things the surrounding nature has to offer. This land is our playground!

We speak Spanish, Italian, Dutch, English and also manage Portuguese, French and German quite alright.

With us, you can count on nutritious vegan meals. We'll be eating mostly from the garden and the rest we try to get from the local market. We love cooking and enjoy to have people around who share our passion. (meaning that we appreciate to have people around who don't mind to take turns in cooking)

We are sorry, but male dogs are not welcome, since we have a territorial (but very sweet) male dog ourselves. Female dogs and puppies shouldn't be a problem.

A helper is expected to work more or less 6 hours a day, depending on the time of year and the weather (it can get quite rainy in this area), and gets food and accommodation (though basic) and lots of learning experience in return.

Minimum stay: 2 weeks. After those two weeks, if desired, we could decide together to prolong the stay.

Please, if interested, contact us through email. Since we don't have internet in the land, it might take some time before we answer.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use