Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 16650
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Fanny Bay
All Year: March to October
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 6
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16650
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 17, 2018

We are Scott and Sarah. We are in our late 20's and early 30's. For the Spring and Summer we are welcoming helper to come and stay at our place. Our farm/nursery is located in Fanny Bay, on the central-east-coast of Vancouver Island. Scott's mom, Doreen, also lives here.

**We are currently looking for a few more people to help out with berry picking in August and September.**

We offer a place to sleep, food and good company. In exchange we ask you for 20 hours of work each week and that you respect the house rules.

The work varies; yard work, digging garden beds, weeding, stacking firewood and a lot of berry picking. Variety is a spice of life. Usually I make up a list of what we'd like done, explain each part, then the helpers have at it and I periodically check on how things are going.

We live 25 km out of town and our house is a 5-minute walk from a bus stop where buses($2) can take you to town in about 30 minutes. Our place is great if you like being in nature.

There is a two-person kayak, some bicycles and fishing gear that you can borrow.

You donít need any specific skills to work here, but you must be able to work unsupervised.

Helpers are expected to assist with cooking and cleanup.

Send me a message if you are interested and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

We are looking for people to help with picking fruit, weeding the gardens, harvesting vegetables, taking cutting and potting plants.

Helpers can learn about the Comox Valley, plant propagation, vegetable gardening and fruit harvesting. Doreen is a talented painter and needle felted as well.

There are 2 large tents set up for helpers. Each tent has a normal double bed and power. The main house has the bathroom, kitchen and living room.

The main house small and is shared with Scott, Sarah and Doreen. We ask volunteers to vacate the house by 10pm, though you may still come in to use the bathroom during the night.

A short walk from our house you can find a forest with a small river and walking trail, a number of pebble beaches and the Fanny Bay Inn.

Within a 20 minute bicycle ride there is the Denman Island ferry and, in the other direction, the Rosewall Creek Nature Reserve.

On Denman Island there a number of funky shops, art galleries and diners. On the other side of this small island is the ferry to Hornby Island, a small island home to artists and hippies. Both islands have circular bicycle routes and can be completed together in 5-7 hours, including the boat rides, depending on your pace. We have well-maintained bicycles for helpers to use.

Rosewall Creek Nature Reserve runs along a small river in the forest. The hike takes about 45 minutes each way . The trail winds its way through boreal forest and patches of devil's-club, beside the river and ends at a tall, cascading waterfall amongst large conifer trees.

The best way to get to our place is by car, since we are out of town and the public transit is infrequent. To get to Fanny Bay from Vancouver; take the Horseshoe Bay Ferry to Nanaimo (Departure Bay). From Departure Bay you can take the IslandLink Bus to Buckley Bay. It is best to reserve your seats in advance for the bus. We can pick you up in Buckley Bay, which is 3.5km from our house.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use