help exchange   Host 16728
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Marshall
All Year: No, April - October
Area (ha): 5 acres in production
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 16728
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 23, 2017

Our small family-owned farm is located on 50 beautiful acres in the mountains of Western North Carolina. Seasonally, we grow 100+ varieties of open-pollinated vegetables, fruits, flowers and herbs with no GMOs that we are aware of. Our soil building techniques do not employ synthetic fertilizers or chemical pesticides and have improved our farm's ecosystem for 30 years and will continue to do so for a healthier environment.

We are hoping to tend and plant 5 acres of crops this year. We also have a large crop of Watercress growing in our branch, a small orchard, 20 blueberry plants and a lot of wild blackberries. We attend 3 tailgate markets per week (mid-April - December) and sell produce to many of the local restaurants.

We have a bed, desk & dresser set up in the barn loft or there is plenty of space to put up a tent outside near our house. There is an outhouse and there are two bathrooms in our house that can be used, as well as other amenities (laundry, kitchen, etc.). Due to these accommodations and our climate a volunteer would probably want to come around mid-March at the earliest and stay until the end of October at the latest. Although, with how our winters have been lately, it's really hard to say exactly how cold the temperature could get. Camping would probably be most comfortable from May - October.

Expectations of volunteers & interns would be to plant, weed, help cultivate, pick, wash, eat and help sell lots of produce! As well as, helping with hauling and unloading manure and other soil amendments. Being willing to help in the kitchen with processing and canning food would be great!

There are three adults (we live with Zeke's father, Lionell), two children, two dogs, honeybees & chickens who live on the farm, all three adults do have driver licenses and there are two working vehicles. Although, we try to limit our fuel consumption as much as we can. We speak English. Due to accommodations we would like to have a single person or a couple; preferably without any pets or children. We will provide meals that consist mainly of fruits and vegetables, whole grains, beans, some meat and some dairy. We are willing to accommodate for vegetarian/vegan diets.

There is lots of hiking to be done on our 50 acres and it's not far from the Appalachian Trail among other trails! The farm is located 45 minutes from Asheville, NC, a fun, diverse town. There are also a few much smaller towns about 30 minutes away.

We welcome willing, hard-working volunteers and/or interns who are interested in learning environmentally responsible agricultural methods. Thank you for your interest!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use