help exchange   Host 16860
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Monteleone d'Orvieto
All Year: closed November-February
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 16860
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2019

We are Torben and Klaartje (= Claire), a Dutch couple living in Umbria, Italy with our two daughters of 11 and 8 years old. We have set up our own business here in Umbria 11 years ago, and have been renting out our big villa consisting of 7 holiday apartments with a communal pool to mainly Dutch and Belgian tourists ever since.
Apart from hosting tourists for 5 to 6 months a year, we also set up an exporting business to Holland and Belgium, some 8 years ago. We now export our own extra vergine olive oil (that we pick in november) and more than 50 different Umbrian wines.

To help us out with all our activities, and because we like to meet people from all around the world, we have asked Helpers to stay with us for 7 years now, during our busiest times. We have made some dear friends because of HelpX, so we love this way of 'exchainging cultures'. What kind of Helpers do we need?

FOR THE MONTHS OF JULY & AUGUST 2019 (minimum stay 3 weeks).
we are looking for 2 Helpers (1 couple, or 2 friends travelling together) to help us make sure that all of our guests staying at Casa San Carlo are happy at all times.
We would ask you to help us cook for our guests (4 times a week and breakfast on Sunday), which means prepping dinner, eating together with us and the guests, and then cleaning up afterwards. Apart from being the 'kitchen crew' with us, we would ask for your help in making sure that the pool is cleaned everyday, all the sunbeds are there, that the terraces aren't messy, the garden looks nice, that the minibar is filled, that the plants are being watered... etcetera, etcetra. Basically we need an extra set of eyes and an extra pair of hands for all the little chores that need to be done when a villa is occupied by 14 adults and usually 14 children.
These two months of high season are really busy, so this is why we ask for people who ENJOY being with tourists, who have experience in hospitality and are friendly to our guests. In other words: outgoing and lively people who do not shy away from strangers but have a high service mentality! We ourselves love to laugh, so a sense of humour is a definite pro :-). Because this type of work means long hours and being friendly even when you're tired or hot (Italy is hot in summer), and we need to be able to rely on our helpers being customer friendly (as are we). We pride ourselves at making Casa San Carlo a very 'familyrun, relaxed, child friendly place', where we welcome a lot of returning guests each yera. They really book a week of their precious holiday 'with Torben and Klaartje', instead of booking an apartment at any random beautiful villa in Italy.

We look for people who are practical, who work pro-actively even if we can not monitor the work constantly (this is VERY important to us), thus show initiative. We also like to surround ourselves with people who have a positive outlook on life. Preferibly in the ages between 22 - 55. We ourselves are 45 and 47 years old, but mentally still 28 :).

IN GENERAL:
As our helper, you will help 5 days a week, 2 days off. But we do ask for flexibility, because in the tourist season, things are sometimes difficult to plan. For example if high season-life is suddenly and unpredictably really hectic one day, we need people to help us improvise and be flexible (as are we), instead of looking at their watches and 'calling it a day'. We will ALWAYS make up for longer hours, we will give you extra time off in slower days, etc.
Please note: We ourselves have worked terribly hard during the last 10 years, running two businesses while taking care of 2 small girls and constantly working non-stop and we are proud of the result. We also look for people who know what it means to get the job done.
We like our helpers to feel part of the family, while working we try to have as much fun as possible.

On your days off, we will take you to train station etc, so you can visit the cities in the neighbourhood. You can easily get to Florence, Rome, Perugia, Orvieto, Siena etc).
We will provide you of course with food & drinks. When we cook for our guests, our helpers join for dinner. There is always food in the house, that can be used by our helpers.
The tourist villa is situated on a hill, but you can walk up to the nearest village (20 minutes) where there is a pizzeria and a bar, and we will always be prepared to drive you to train stations etc.

Anyone who wants to visit Italy and help us in exchange for a nice place to stay: please feel free to contact us! We look forward to meeting you all!

All the best, ciao ciao, Torben & Klaartje

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use