help exchange   Host 1717
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 30acres,1200acr hill farm
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 1717
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 22, 2017

Rod and I have lived here for eight years on a 30 acre block and we have a hill farm property near Miller's Flat in Central Otago near Roxburgh. Our youngest son, manages and works alongside Rod. We have a large garden with ponds and a small orchard. These always need tending to.

Rod is quite an avid photographer, enjoys riding his motorbike,getting away to our holiday house in Wanaka, when time permits. He is very involved with the new cycle trail which passes within 2km of our farm. I am a retired school teacher who loves to cook and sew ,play both the guitar and ukulele and try all other sorts of crafts. I am also the Central Otago Town Crier.

Our eldest son is on his own dairy farm in Southland where he and his wife and their two young children live. They are always needing help in the house and farm.
Our eldest daughter and her husband farm at Lake Hayes,and also own a pre-school, with two young daughters, life is also busy for them. Our youngest daughter owns her own hair salon in Roxbugurgh, Bellissimo, and is mother to our oldest grandchild.

The Teviot Valley where we live is stunningly beautiful - cold winters and hot summers. It is the stone and pip fruit belt of the South Island -apples, apricots , cherries etc. There is an abundance of bird life here and the fishing on the local rivers is excellent. We are forty minutes from the Central Otago Rail Trail and vineyards.

We always appreciate help in the garden especially at this time of the year and the house could do with a spring clean and fruit picking. Rod and I both in recuperation mode as Rod broke his ankle and I had neck surgery so we are both in recuperation mode but both mobile and doing well a couple of months down the track from all the drama!! At the moment we need help picking some fruit, spring (autumn ) cleaning the house and the garden needs a tidy up.Own transport preferable. We have wifi.

reviews (9)
Helper: Sophie and Valentin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 29, 2017
Another unique and unforgettable experience! We stayed 10 days with Paddy-Ann... view complete review

Helper: Lindsay thomson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 15, 2015
My travelling companion Helene actually organised our helpx with the Pemberto... view complete review

Helper: Alexandra Duerr Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: June 24, 2014
Paddy-An, Rod and the family are so friendly and helpful! We spent wonderful ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Christine and Kelvin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Malaysia Date: March 8, 2014
We were staying with Paddy-Ann & Rod for 2 weeks. We had a lovely & fun tim... view complete review

Helper: Jana and Tim Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 29, 2013
Everyone! This place is awesome! We have just spent an amazing three weeks wi... view complete review

Helper: Fiona and John Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: June 11, 2012
We had such a lovely tine here in the teviot valley. The pembertons are a tru... view complete review

Helper: Elin Grimes Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: November 27, 2011
I couldn't possibly rate this family highly enough. They kindly took me on ov... view complete review

Helper: Patty and Green Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: November 8, 2010
We had been there for two times. And we can't believe that can meet so friend... view complete review

Helper: WANDERSON DE OLIVEIRA Profile: hidden - premier members only  
From: Brazil Date: November 14, 2009
Friendly and lovelly people!Thanks for your hospitality and attention.I loved... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use