help exchange   Host 17221
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Waitakere RD1
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17221
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 18, 2019

I am an artist (painter) currently working on a new exhibition. I have an interesting house in the bush near the sea, with lots of sunshine and privacy. I have a very friendly little red kelpie dog who loves the company of her helpx visitors! There is a waterfall here with stream and ponds set in the lush bush. With plenty of practical jobs to do both inside and outside in the bush and in the gardens, I welcome visitors who are willing diligent helpers . I have a garden
and orchard so that there are plenty of fresh veges for my helpers as they come and go. I am a good cook, am willing to teach my helpers how to cook from time to time. I am happy for you to sometimes cook for me and other helpers if they are here! I enjoy sharing my home and life with others. I network

for my visitors if I can. The walks at Bethells Beach and the connected tracks to the the Waitakere Ranges are wonderful. Te Henga/Bethells is a vast sprawling wilderness quite close to Auckland city but far away enough to feel you are no where near the city at all. There are no shops here. Nor is there any cell phone coverage (we like it like that!) It is the land-behind-the-world and has a slow pace about it.(including very slow internet
connections!) There is a friendly community here and this is a unique opportunity to be off the main tourist route but thoroughly in one of the most scenic and exciting landscapes peopled by genuine caring people. Bethells/Te Henga is a great place to experience nature without the maddening crowds! It takes about an hours train journey to Swanson from the city and I can collect

you from the station or bus stop and bring you home.(20 minutes drive)

Right now I am AVAILABLE for September 2019. I have some pressing outdoor painting work to be done and need someone who is neat tidy and efficient. I don't want to teach you to house paint I need an I am looking for an efficient mature person right now!
I am not in a rush for a new helpx and really only will consider someone who has the work skills of outdoor house painting and property maintenance. My time is precious this year so I don’t feel I can offer a slot to just anyone who will “give it a go”

It is good to have a helpx who has their own transport but it is ok if you haven't a car. I can accomodate one single person only

You will have your own room. I Am happy to assist where I can in networking and conversations to improve English language, although right now it would be great to have someone with English as their first language. I have wireless internet access for use with your laptop or internet device.It is not unlimited use though as I pay for the data as it is used.Usually the Wi Fi is on in non work hours and till about 10pm. Can negotiate of course overseas Skype calling needs... I have a phone landline. I can offer a a few days accomodation right now . (Sometimes the weeks can slips\ quite easily into more if we get along fine! but this is not an option this month sorry) If it is good for both of us then there may be opportunities for the helper to come back again. I need to have down time as well and just to concentrate on my work...

I welcome non smokers so am not so keen about smokers! I can accommodate for begat arias vegans and gluten intolerant plus meat eaters. Just let me know!

I appreciate ongoing friendships and like to feel I can extend a warm welcome to my helpers in this country! I am open to developing friendships with people who may want to pop back from time to time and know they have a little bit of continuity in nuture and networking if they need that.
I am not a backpackers but a private host so I give preference to people who respond to my post!

Please give good details about yourself when you write to me. Photos and testmonials are important to me so PLEASE upgrade if you are serious about coming and you have not supplied much about yourself on your profile.

The season has shifted into autumn now so I am hoping to get through tasks with the help of my wonderful helpx guests. There is a bit of firewood to chop but essentially I need a house painter! I like good advance emails as I find it requires a little time to get well sorted before visitors come. Helpx Emails only no phonecalls or txts at this stage please!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use