help exchange   Host 1732
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Makawao
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 1732
Region: Hawaii

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2018

We are a happy family looking for 1 or possibly 2 helpers. We have varied types of work depending on your skills. We have handy-person work, building projects, housekeeping, exterior/interior painting, landscaping, gardening, lots of weeding, weed wack, raking, trimming branches or plants, planting. We also have some hopeful laughter and joy. :)

We are located in Pukalani, Maui on a 1/2 acre lot in a suburban neighborhood. We are walking distance to the bus stop, grocery store, bank, hardware store, restaurants, post office and a community pool/park. We are a 5 minute drive to historic Makawao town, 15 minute drive to Kahului and Paia. We are ideally located on the slopes of Haleakala at about 1000 foot elevation on the island of Maui, Hawaii.
The weather here is sunny and warm in the summer at 80F/85F day and 70/75F night. Autumn/winter averages about 75F day and 55F night.

We are a creative and hardworking family with a peaceful, positive, compassionate, energy and environment.

We have 1 Private bedroom available in a cottage that is also our craft and office building. You would have 1 private full bathroom and use of counters and a cupboard in the open kitchen. There is mini refrigerator for your use, hotplate, microwave. There is an outdoor BBQ area.

Please note that you must be okay with fragrance, essential oil scents, and lifting 20lb boxes on occasion, as there might be work in my craft business too.

The hours of work trade for the room are from 9:30 to 12:30 Monday to Friday. It is possible to work three 5 hour days during the week as well.(15 Hours)
(Saturday and Sunday FREE/Off day to enjoy fully the beautiful isle of Maui.)

There is also the possibility of some extra paid hours.

We are looking for an optimistic person. Qualities we admire are honesty, integrity, and a considerate spirit. A strong work ethic is key. :)
being content working alone or with an other is important. A positive attitude with any chore is very appreciated. This is not a teaching facility but a homestay work-trade. In addition, though we wish we had time to entertain helpers and show them our beautiful island, we just don't have the time with work, home, family obligations. We are happy to lend suggestions on beaches, waterfalls, hikes, and restaurants etc. An independent person who can research their own adventures and go off exploring on their own is important. Meals are not included but we can offer some paid extra hours of work if you need additional income. I love cooking and if you do too, we can enjoy creating the occasional meal and campfire eve. If we can find the leisure time, we are happy to show you a nice snorkel beach where we can swim with the turtles.

Sorry, but no smoking of any kind, NO drugs on the property, as we have children and want to set a good example for them.

Contactable References of work, work trade, and past living are necessary.

Thanks so much and have a great day!

Warm Aloha! (please note we will be posting updated photos of furnished room soon. We are still working on furnishings etc)



Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use