help exchange   Host 17380
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kojonup
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4600 Hectares
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17380
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 2, 2019


---------------------------------------------

We are a farming family with children that are all grown. Our eldest son lives and works in Perth, our daughter and her partner work on the farm with us and our youngest son is attending university in Perth and spends holidays at home.

We live on a 3075 hectare farm, 54km south west of Kojonup, in the Great Southern region of Western Australia. It is about a 4 hour drive from Perth, a 2 hour drive from Bunbury and a 1 3/4 hour drive from Albany.

We run another two separate properties (450Ha and 1075Ha) approximately 10km away. On the farm we run approximately 18000 Merino sheep and grow canola, barley, wheat and oats. We have 2 sheep dogs that are more like family pets (but they live outside) and we also keep chickens.

We have a reasonable garden area with fruit trees, herbs and vegetable beds. We would love some help weeding, tidying, or pruning in the orchard and the vegetable garden which could do with some loving care! Also, help with new garden projects would be great. We would want some basic house cleaning done as well as things like windows and long forgotten corners! There may be farm work (if you like) depending on the time of year. You must be able to drive a manual transmission vehicle if you would like to do any farm work.

As we are 54km out of Kojonup it is easier if you have your own car... if not then we can pick you up from the bus stop in Kojonup (which is a main stop on the Perth/Albany route) and drop you back at the end of your stay.

We are offering accommodation, all meals and limited internet usage (we are limited to about 500MB per day for all our needs - so Skype and video usage by request only!). We expect approximately 4 hours of work a day and we all help out in the kitchen at meal times. We love to try new foods and are happy for you to cook! It is ideal if you want to stay for 5 days to 2 weeks (or more if it suits all of us). We sometimes go to Perth on weekends to visit our sons and appreciate having someone to house-sit, feed the dogs and chickens.

We live in a typical Australian style house with verandahs all around. We like to have meals on the verandah when the weather is fine and take in the wonderful views.

We have 2 spare bedrooms with comfortable beds in each. We only have one bathroom but 2 toilets.


reviews (4)
Helper: Cynthia & Stella Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: August 29, 2014
This is our first Helpx experience, and we are very very lucky to get to meet... view complete review

Helper: Eva and Thomas Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 2, 2014
1 word : awesome ! We stayed 1 month at Wondoora, and it was AMAZING ! We... view complete review

Helper: Sue and Lochie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: June 3, 2013
We stayed 8 weeks with the lovely Stretch family. We couldn't have asked for ... view complete review

Helper: Hivert PAULINE Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 24, 2013
At the beginning, I had to stay only 2 weeks, but finally, I stayed 3 months ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use