help exchange   Host 17448
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 11
Persons: 4
Category: Hospitality
Host ID: 17448
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 26, 2015

We are a young couple. Husband (Shivam) is Portuguese and Wife (Amari) is Indian.

We live in a beautiful property that is 100% Solar Powered. We also have our own water source making us completely sustainable. We are totally off the grid but we have great systems in place. We have a total of 11 hectares of land. We also have a salt water pool.

The access to our place is via dirt road 2.5 km and we are pretty isolated but everything you need is right here or in the village (10 mins drive) or in Odemira which is 25 mins drive away. We are able to take you there. We are about 45 mins to the coast. We are completely surrounded in nature.

In exchange for help you will get meals & accommodate: in SUMMER & SPRING you will be in a tent - In WINTER & AUTUMN (separate quarters with an en suite bathroom this is a SHARED ROOM and can fit 3 volunteers) It is likely you will be sharing this space usually two people share.

The room also has a wood burner so it is very warm in winter. It also has an outdoor kitchen attached to it for teas, to make your breakfast and evening meal(we make lunch sometimes)

This is a very remote place, so if you are interested in being in a buzzing place with lots of activity or if you get restless easily, you need not apply. If you are a nature person, like to be alone, and can immerse yourself in a quiet space, this is the place for you. We make this point clear as we do not want to be wasting your time or ours.

We are vegetarians and meals will be vegetarian, if you want meat you will have to cook that yourself likely in another kitchen we have. But we are not opposed to that. Sometimes we eat fish.

We are trying to develop more accommodation and start a permaculture vegetable garden. Currently we have organic fruit trees: apricots, figs, lemons and oranges, pomegranates and vegetables growing in our garden.

We would need mostly outdoor work: building shade areas, some construction, painting, gardening, taking care of the pool, strimming, planting,cleaning, building compost toilets, cleaning the house and guest rooms. We have a lot of outdoor work and this is where we need the most help. If you are skilled in building and construction then this is what we are really looking for. It is not necessary, but a definite bonus. Sometimes we require help cleaning rooms, and generally tidying the outside areas as we constantly welcome guests. Some dog care might be necessary and we have two kittens.

We want people who are self motivated and really can drive themselves. Sometimes you will be alone working or with two or three people. Nevertheless we do not want people who do not have a strong work ethic as we are very much workers with fun! So please only apply if you can motivate yourself, BE ON TIME to start work and be responsible with our tools and a what we provide to work. We also want people who are clean and tidy. Who can clean up after themselves and contribute to the already clean place we have. If you are unable to do this, please do not apply.

We are very accommodating and happy to have volunteers who are willing to learn share and work with us. We have flexible work hours and this can be discussed in more detail in the application process. We prefer to have everything discussed before hand via skype or a call. We like to move on your emails do please only contact us if you are serious as we respond fast.

A typical day is like this:

Wake up have breakfast (you have food provided for this in the communal kitchen)
Tidy up after breakfast, clean dishes, surfaces
Work at 9am (changes due to the season) START on time, tools prepared beforehand
12 noon stop and rest
12:30/1:00pm Lunch (this is a meal prepared by us or yourself)
3-5pm work (again start on time with tools ready before 3pm)
5pm rest
6 pm Dinner (we provide you with food to cook yourself with the other volunteers. Occasionally we also do dinner)
7pm tidy up after dinner. (dishes, surfaces, sweep communal kitchen, put things away)
Rest, leisure time

We do 5 hrs per day 5 days per week (2 days off which if we go out we can take you with us.)

We also have a beautiful dog and kitten so animal lovers necessary!

This is a great place for volunteers with very cushy accommodation!

If you need to constantly be on the internet, please also do not apply. We are limited in our internet and you will not be able to be on everyday. Downloading is not possible due to our own limits and workloads. Simple email checking every other day is fine. We have plenty of books to keep you entertained.

We require a minimum commitment of 3 weeks so please only respond if you can stay for that time frame and pls only if you are really ready to come. ideally we are looking for the right people to come and stay here for 2-3 months at a time if a longer stay is what you are looking for.

Please no wishy washy - ness :)

Thank you

Amari & Shivam

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use