help exchange   Host 17682
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Camas
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17682
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 22, 2018

Our farm is inside the city limits of Camas, yet has a country feel,with lots of wildlife. You will see deer, eagles, hawks, woodpeckers, coyotes. We are surrounded by trees or greenbelt on all sides. No matter which part of the property one works, you can't see any surrounding development. There is an awesome view of Mt. Hood. Our farm is approximately 5 acres, a good portion with wildlife areas. We grow lots of fruit & nut trees, blueberries, raspberries, flowers, and a large vegetable garden. We are equidistant to the Columbia Gorge and Portland, Oregon, 20 minutes to either, by car. You can walk a block down the street and catch a connector bus which will take you to Camas, or Vancouver, and from there, on to Portland. There's even a bus to the Gorge, drops you off right next to the Cape Horn trail, one of the better known Gorge hikes.

Types of work performed depend on time of year and season. In the fall, there is harvesting & processing, which could include canning or drying food. Clean up of garden beds and field areas, fence repair or building new fences. In late fall and winter, fruit tree pruning. In the spring there's plenty of planting and clean up to be done. Work inside the house, such as food prep, cooking, help with house pet care, cleaning, are all possibilities. Handyman skills or a desire to learn them could be helpful. Helpers that are able to follow instruction and work independently are needed year round. Length of stay negotiable.

Our home is a respectful mix of vegans and vegetarians, mostly gluten free. You can expect to receive and help prepare, if you have the ability, vegan meals, all organic. We have two cats and three adults in our home.

We can accommodate one person, sorry no pets. No smoking or drugs. You will get your own room, with a shared bathroom.

We ask for 24 hours of help for each seven day period you are with us:

--six days of 4-hour help and one day completely off or
--fewer days of longer hours of help and several whole days off

We're flexible about all of that and want to accommodate your needs and preferences also.

Please! No perfume, cologne or scented toiletries.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use