help exchange   Host 17757
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Leipzig
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1,2
Category: Other
Host ID: 17757
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 8, 2019

Our Project:

Renovation from an apartment building (1901) that is an Historical Monument in the City Of Leipzig. There´s a lot of people that thinks this project is a little bit crazy, but we are on the way…..


We are located in the Northwest part of Leipzig in the neighborhood of Möckern, just 10 minutes away by tram or bike from the city center and the main railway station.

We are a family composed of a father (39) and two kids (16 and 14). Open minded and nature and adventure loving. A neighbor is helping us constantly with the wish to live in the house too and have his own apartment here. Now we are renovating some rooms and apartments in the House.
Our dream is to revitalize our over century old house and create a place for alternative living where artistic freedom and sustainable practices can be cultivated.
Our project offers rent-free living, food and working space, a bike for transportation for its members in exchange for a 4 hours workday/20 hours work per week.

We want to begin with a permaculture garden, which will include our self-built greenhouse and perhaps other projects you would like to contribute to.


For helping us we can offer food, accommodation, internet, a bike. It´s also a place for meeting people, making music, restore lead glass windows, make furniture, ceramik, etc.

There are plenty of ideas to put into practice. We are open and will consider all ideas as fairly as possible. We talk very good Spanish and German, and we offer Language COURSES for everybody. If somebody has some skills for teaching they are welcome to do it. (Not only for the people in the house). There is always a room that you can take, to teach something.

http://tradeschool.coop/newyork/class
http://www.taak-halle.de
http://www.b.dk/globalt/billige-liv-i-leipzig

We are looking for:

We are looking for reliable, motivated people to help with general renovation work which includes, but is not limited to: plumbing, cleaning out rooms, helping with roofing work, painting doors and windows, etc.
You could also contribute to our garden and other outdoor work (not so much in winter)
Working hours are not strictly determined in advance, there are no fixed starting times. Sometimes we will need your help during the whole day, but others maybe there is nothing to do. We will talk about things and find the best solution for everybody. You should be flexible in working and planning your leisure time. You don´t have to be a professional.
The rooms are very simple but functionally equipped. The house is also well equipped for german-winter, there are tile ovens (wood).
We guarantee a two-week stay, however we favor long-term volunteers so that we can form a good social and working relationship. You are welcome all year round as families, couples or individually.
We are looking for ecological ideas. If somebody has a good idea and want to test in the house, it´s welcome.
One more thing we want to mention, before visiting us, please make sure that you are sufficiently insured (in case of illness or injuring yourself.) http://www.helpx.net/workingholidaytravelinsurance.asp

We speak German, English and Spanish, but we also would like to learn other languages. And teach them to others.

If you are interested, it would be very helpful if you would please answer the following questions:
1. When would you like to join us?
2. How long would you like to stay with us?
We take part of this project and groups.

reviews (2)
Helper: Lachie Summers Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 23, 2014
I stayed at Phillip's from the 5th of June til the 20th of August. My days we... view complete review

Helper: Sam Roberts Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 25, 2014
I had a great time living with Philip, Lars, Tommy and Sebastian. Phillip h... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use