help exchange   Host 17947
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

vilanova i la geltru
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 17947
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 15, 2020

Looking for different skills (no need to have all of them!): painter, electrician, plumber, carpenter. We could also host someone that doesn't mind helping us cleaning our home + sewing and/or ironing.

PLASTERER AND PAINTER: If you are really good at plastering grouting and painting, we would be happy to meet you, as we are still half way of painting our home and, as it's an ancient one (built in 1899!), we need re-plastering and grouting some old walls!. We'd also need help plastering and painting a flat in Barcelona, too (but you would stay with us in Vilanova and work intensively a couple a days a week in BCN).

ELECTRICIAN AND PLUMBER: for cleaning the radiators and central heating (draining and refilling pipes, etc). We'll also need to change our kitchen hood and repairing a couple of switches that don't work properly. We also have a DVD and a freezer that doesn't work properly and may be you would be able to bring them back to life!

CLEANER: We need a cleaner to help us keep our homes clean and in good conditions.

CARPENTER: To add locks in several rooms that we want to rent independent˝y. We would like to make kind of a pergola to shadow our patio.

We also need a handyman or a builder, someone able to help us working with concrete and mortar on the fašade walls of our ancient home. The more of these abilities you have, the better it would be for us!


Work just 14 hours a week in exchange for 1st class accommodation (no meals) and enjoy more free time! It is up to you to distribute this time, for instance, working 4 hours one day and have next day free or working 2hours each day.

As there is a kitchenette in your studio and a supermarket and bakery next door, you can easily cook your own meals and you will have plenty of free time for sightseeing or just relaxing by the beach.

The bedroom at your disposal,in the second floor of our home, has its own kitchenette, bathroom and sunny terrace. It's airy and sunny and you have also a table and chair in the terrace to eat outdoors. Because of our mild weather, you can enjoy the sun all day long. We have recently painted it, in a cream and light blue colour (but some pictures are still in the green one we had previously)

Our home located in a pedestrian area, right in the main street of our city, Vilanova i la Geltr˙, so that you can go on foot everywhere and, at the same time, it is just a 5 minutes walk to the railway station that brings you to Barcelona and Tarragona, two UNESCO world's heritage sites.

From our home you can visit all which Catalonia has to offer in daily trips. Trains in Spain are inexpensive (it costs less than 3 Euro going to Barcelona!). We are also at a 50 minutes train ride from Port Aventura's Theme Park! And many low cost companies fly to Barcelona's airport.

Vilanova itself has a lovely sunny beach and cliffs and you can go walking along the coast until Sitges, a very beautiful white town. It is a wonderful hiking trail, specially early in the morning, when the sun rises, or at the sunset.


We are experienced home exchangers and have also hosted several travellers up till now, from different websites, and can provide with references.

At home we speak English and Catalan. But we can also communicate in Spanish, Italian, German or French.

We have two sons and have chosen to live in Vilanova because we are close to Barcelona, so we can benefit from all what a cosmopolitan city has to offer, but at the same time we live in a more "human sized" city, walking distance from the beach and right in the city centre (market, library, cinema, cafes, train and bus station, shopping area, etc.....all at less than 5 minutes walking!)

Vicent (teaches German) and Imma (works with teenagers) are the parents of Maršal (19 years old, now studying in Majorca)and Arnau (17 years old active and smiley boy fond of ski and in-line hockey, at present a lovely teenager with his ups and downs!). Vicent and I divorced, but we keep a good relationship, so helpers might be expected to help out at home or at Vicent's home (both in Vilanova). The boys split their time in between both our homes.

We are looking for smiling, energetic, independent, easy going, non-smoking people (and no drugs, please!), open-minded and honest, Someone who is really skilled to do repairs around the house and can work without supervision.

Maybe it's obvious to say this, but we are a family, not a hotel, so we are sure that you will act as you would do at home (so you will clean up after yourself, etc).

We enjoy sharing a cup of coffee with our guests, but just don't have time to show them round Barcelona and/or provide entertainment. This is why we tend to get on better with self sufficient singles or couples.You will have your privacy and we expect to have ours, too.

On the other hand, if you just want to have a vacation, we can also consider renting you the bedroom, but we would of course prefer someone willing to exchange his/her skills for a place you can consider your home!

We can host individuals, couples and families with a young son/daughter, but not three adults, as in the studio there is a 140x200cm bed and we can add a 70x140 mattress for your young son/daughter.

Thanks for reading!

Back to Top
Copyright ę 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use