help exchange   Host 17998
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 160
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 17998
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 7, 2020

I'm a veterinarian and have my Vet clinic and home east of Sexsmith. In addition I have a little farm with cows, pigs, horses, emus, chickens, ducks, turkeys, geese, rabbits, pigeons, cats and zebrafinches - and most of the time we have a horse/dog/cat here as a patient as well.we also milk a few cows daily for the fresh butter and cheeze
we have lots of baby rabbits right now lots, every helper gets at least one to take home
SO IF YOU LOVE ANIMALS : this is the right place for you. There are lots of animals to feed,
you can:
- learn how to milk a cow (if you don't know it already),
- bottlefeed the calves (especially in winter and spring)
- feed the poultry, collect eggs (it does not get fresher than that!)
- take care of our rabbits, they like to be cuddled and spoiled with freshly picked dandelion :-)
- cook, if you like to
- make hay with us if you come between july and September
- do some gardening, we always try to grow some veggies, salads etc - just for our own use

You want to learn how to drive a tractor? we will show you, its easy and fun - but if you are afraid of big machinery: no problem, you can walk, ride a bike or use my car.

We are looking for responsible, motivated and happy helpers - we have a lot of fun here and like to share it with you.

You are welcome to ride any of my 5 horses, if you know how to ride. The area is beautiful for rides.
We like to share what we have, so make yourself at home when you stay here.
Your accommodation is a private room in our house with your own bathroom. We have internet as well as many DVD's for entertainment.
For 4 hours of work a day you have all you can eat (freezers are full with meat and veggies), if you have special diets - being a vegetarian, vegan, glutenfree etc.- no problem, we can buy what you need and you show us how to cook.

Helpers have stayed with me for 2 weeks to one year. beneficial to have an international drivers license. If you would like to stay longer a work & travel visa would make things easier...if that's not possible, we can work something out. We always have more to do than the 4 h/d - so if you want to work more, let us talk.
Especially if you have any special skills, like being a handy(wo)man, can do renovation, fencing, carpentry or tell us what your skills are!!!

Please note that I live in a rural area in the prairies. The next bigger city is Grande Prairie 20 minutes south of me.
I look forward to hearing from you.
if you send us an email it might take a few days before you get a response - so the quickest way is to call us in daytime, or in the evening try the mobile.
need someone to train my two year old warmblood now, I just can t find the time
PS: Ich spreche Deutsch und Englisch

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use