help exchange   Host 18070
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Darwin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 18070
Region: Northern Territory

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 6, 2019

We are Looking for one helper who can help us with the daily running of our household to stay with us and work 4 hours in exchange of accommodation and food. Female as my husband is away a lot and we are more comfortable with having a female stranger in the home than a male stranger!
I work full time and would love it if I didnít have to come home after a long day and have to cook, clean and do the washing!
Usually you would have your own room with double bed and shared ensuite. BUT our lives change constantly and my stepdaughter is living with us at the moment so we don't have any spare rooms so you would be in the upstairs lounge which has a couch that converts into a bed. This lounge is on a mezzanine over the main lounge and kitchen. We have a really big house... and we wouldn't go into that area anyway!
We also have a pool in the back yard to cool down in.
I work full time so unfortunately do not have time to take you sight seeing as much as I would like to. Although you are of course very welcome to explore in your own time and we are happy for you to come along on our activities which are usually kids birthday parties, water parks and rugby training!
We cannot cater to special diets - sorry, we need someone who is happy to eat the same meals as us.
We have a cleaner come in fortnightly as well so itís not just cleaning you need to do.
Things we need help with are:
Cleaning windows (there are A LOT!!)
Cleaning the house
Cooking and cleaning up after meals
Garden maintenance (cutting the long grass)
Childcare - I would love to be able to go to the gym in the evening..
Washing up/dishwasher
Laundry
Making beds
Emptying bins
Helping the kids with homework
Taking the kids to the park
Supervising the kids in the pool
Reading stories with the kids
There is Zuccoli parade shops less than 5 minutes walk away which includes an IGA, cafe, bottle shop and drs and there is a bus stop around the corner that can take you to Palmerston interchange. But it would be easiest if you have a car... this is Australia- everything is easier with a car! Unfortunately I cannot take you around and pick you up in the middle of the night.. as most of the time I am on my own with the kids while my husband works away.
We have two kittens called whitesocks and tiny tiger!
We are a family of husband and wife. Michael is a greek aussie and I am English. I came to Australia as a backpacker doing help x (Melissa Blewitt) and met Michael.
We have 2 children together aged 6 and 8 and Michael has 5 children from a previous marriage who live with us on and off but are growing up into adults now! We even became grandparents recently!!! My stepdaughter Sophie aged 21 is currently living with us.
We both work full time. Michael is a builder and I am a teacher so we are at work all day during the week and struggle to get all the household and garden chores all done!
We have unlimited NBN wifi and Netflix
We live 30 minutes out of Darwin city by car and with having young children we are not a clubbing / partying household. So if thats what your after then we are probably not the place for you! But if you have your own transport then there is nothing stopping you going out!
We don`t mind if you want to work one long day and take the next off etc or even work heaps during the week and have the weekends off..
There is public buses around but they don't generally run that late at night.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use