help exchange   Host 18160
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 200
Persons: 2 or 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18160
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 19, 2013

Due to a cancelation by some helpers we are now looking for helpers for the month of June!

We are a commercial dairy Farm on the beautiful Atherton Tablelands east of Cairns. We are at 3300 feet altitude in the wet tropics so our farm is green almost all of the year. Our height ensures that we are never too hot in the summer and with the prevailing SE breeze (we have a commercial wind farm as a neighbour) we have been described as naturally air conditioned.

We milk 200 - 250 cows. My wife and I run the farm on our own with no staff (my wife works off farm as well as a speech pathologist) so are looking for some help particularly with gathering and milking the cows and feeding the calves. There could be some other jobs as well for interested and suitable helpers.

Our dairy is state of the art and fully computerised and we are considered one of the more modern farms in the region.

We have two small boys as well so an ability to relate to them and maybe even some child minding would be a benefit to us.

We are in the process of building purpose designed living quarters for helpers.
(The living are is finished now - well almost - it is fully lined and sealed, has floor coverings, lights and power and is reverse cycle air conditioned - still needs cupboards yet)

We would prefer helpers to stay a minimum of a month because it does take a little bit of training to get good at milking.

We are quiet close to town and there is a heap to do and see on the Atherton Tablelands.

The most important trait we are looking for in a helper is someone who can handle EARLY MORNINGS.

We will provide self contained accommodation but you eat and shower in the house in exchange for helping with the morning milking session.

The BAD NEWS is we start at between 4.00 and 4.30am.

The GOOD NEWS is that means that you are finished between 9.00 and 9.30am and have the rest of the day to yourself if you want. We are busy all day though and all of the helpers we have had so far have enjoyed helping throughout the day when they are here. You are free to watch TV or go into town if you want though.

We have the music on (or often the morning radio program so I can listen to weather reports), you get to work closely with the animals and it is not hard work at all.

We are a fun loving young couple who ourselves who have travelled and are both university educated (I am a veterinarian as well) with a high level of local community involvement. We look forward to the prospect of having some help as well as the cultural exchange that will surely ensue.

Below is a photo of a couple from Germany that helped us out last year in the dairy and an old photo of us and the kids that is about two years old (the kids are now 6 and 4).

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use