help exchange   Host 18398
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 9.7 x 47m
Persons: 1 and only one (1)
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 18398
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 14, 2019

inner city very old unrenovated house with lots of vegie garden space (would like it to be an organic urban farm).
We are in Fitzroy North, we are very close to Brunswick East, Northcote and Carlton North.

Tasks: tidying, organising, cleaning, cooking, gardening, weeding, bicycle repair/cleaning, brushing and entertaining the cat

Important things:
Non-smoking/drug house and property.
Vegetarian/vegan (please don't bring or cook meat/fish products),
Shoe free inside, shoes on-outside the house.
Eco-friendly/sustainability focus!
We are gay/queer friendly.
The house tries to go to bed early (10ish) and gets up early ~7. not a sleeping in place!
WiFi is not unlimited so please be mindful.

The helpxer needs to be:
Independent, house-trained, easy-going, eye for detail, hard-working, focused, open, clean,tidy person with initiative!

I welcome your ideas for projects.

We have space for short term stays~3 days (depends) for one (that is 1) person (NOT two (2), not a couple/two friends)-I'm writing this as I get many requests from two people (this is because there is only space to stay in lounge room-so its not very private or super quiet-maybe bring ear plugs/sleeping mask) or possibly a tent in the yard (but this is also small). Snorers must sleep in the tent!
If you have a cold/flu please wait till you are better and don't share it with us!

Hours/nature of work depends on my time/what is required and the weather. ATM its better for me to have some longer intensive days over the weekend when I am not working/weather good and then you can have some free time to see the city.

Please check:
We are close to the CBD, public transport and lots of interesting things in Melbourne.
There are two other housemates who I have to check with first about hosting.

I have been a helpxer in the U.S.

Please turn up on time and plan your journey.
You can use the journey planner website:
We are easily accessible by tram, train and bus.

Please have some photos, filled in profile and some references in your profile and/email(can be from employer, wwoofing,couchsurfing).

If I cannot host you. I can ask my sister and her family.
She lives 15km from Bendigo, central Victora-you can take the train there from Melbourne. She can pick you up at the station. Her family are vegetarian/vegan, they have two dogs, 3 boys (aged 8,6&1) and 20 acres. A creek runs through the property and there is a dam for the garden. There is a spare bicycle too. There are kangaroos, yabbies and lots of birds on the property.

Other options to try that are vegetarian in Victoria are:

Thank you for reading.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use