help exchange   Host 18453
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cygnet area
All Year: September to March
Area (ha): 12 with 4 as pasture
Persons: 2 maximum
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 18453
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 17, 2018

My husband I live on approximately 12 hectares with most of it being native bush. It is not a farm. Sadly, we don't grow anything and we have no animals.

We are not vegetarians so we have meat with most meals. We are non-smoking, so NO smokers please. We also enjoy social drinks.

From the beginning of October we would really appreciate help with the maintenance of the house, yard and pasture. There is almost everything and anything to be done. The work may require using a brushcutter, chainsaw, ride-on mower, axe/splitter, garden tools, weed sprayer, and some hard yakka with a pick and hoe. What needs to be done is gardening, weed management, fencing, and building raised garden beds and some small building/renovation jobs.

We are happy to try different food so if you can cook, you are most welcome to share the cooking.

My husband is a building designer and project manager and works as a sole trader, and I am a public servant with a background in community development and social policy. We have two adult children who have left home. Our property is off the power grid so we are totally self reliant for our power, wood and water. This does mean being aware of excess usage. We are well established and live almost like any other household however, we don't use electrical items such as hairdryer, clothes dryer etc. We have magnificent views and live approximately 12 klms from the nearest town (Cygnet). Cygnet is a small vibrant town, which has most essential facilities.

At our home you will see beautiful views to the Hartz Mountains. You will also see lots of native wildlife including wallabies, possums, native cats, quolls, owls, eagles, and hawks.

In exchange for food and board we would appreciate you providing an average 4-5 hours work per day for five days per week. How this is spread across the stay is negotiable, including full days of work with more days off. We can offer all meals (BYO alcohol) but because I found in the past that cooking 2 different meals each night was too much work for me, so we cannot cater for vegans. We can provide two king single beds in the guest bedroom in our home with lots of warm bedding for sleeping with all other facilities shared with us.

We enjoy music and photography. We have ukuleles, guitars, violin, whistles, and a bodhran, which you would be welcome to use on your stay, if you treat them well.

We prefer to have two people at a time.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use